AMD R9 270

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
microw

AMD R9 270

Post by microw »

I'm new to Mint and have tried 4 version of Linux but I like this one the most so, here I am back again - to try and make this work. I'm a disabled veteran who has owned his own computer store and ISP back in the day. So I can be pretty dangerous inside and operation system. So, as the above subject indicates I need drivers for this video card in Mint for now. I will be getting a Nvidia card to replace it soon since these are supported far better. But until then I gotta have my warships and war thunder.... ex Submarine Vet. When I was in Ubuntu 16.04 they have a driver for this card which worked great. Can I use this driver for this system version of Linux? If not I have also tried to deciphered the coding lingo of Open Source Drivers to no avail. Just not up to date on whether or not my card is supported or what to do...

Here is where I went https://www.x.org/wiki/RadeonFeature/

I'm hoping to get some kind of graphics acceleration to play these games better till I get enough to buy a new card. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Pierre
Level 21
Level 21

Re: AMD R9 270

Post by Pierre »

if you can get a driver for Ubuntu 16.04, as they have a driver for this card which works
then there is a good chance that it should also work in LinuxMint as well.

if that doesn't work, then also try: Menu - Control Center - Administration - - Driver Manager,
to see if that will offer an driver for that video card.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.
microw

Post by microw »