Page 1 of 1

New nvidia card

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 12:26 pm
by BubbaBlues
Well I've had nothing but frustration and failure on linux with my nvidia GTS 250 Drivers just don't work, so I just went to newegg and
bought a nvidia Geforce GT 1030 card. Someone please tell me I won't have problems with drivers for that card. Please?

Re: New nvidia card

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:04 pm
by phd21
HI BubbaBlues,

With some older nVidia video cards like GTS 250, you might be better off using the default Linux drivers.

With newer nVidia video cards like the GT 1030 installing the correct video drivers should work very well, see link below and instructions below that. Always restart after installing new video drivers.

NVIDIA: how to install the latest video card drivers - Easy Linux tips project
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/12

To install this using the PPA method, open a console terminal, type in, or copy & paste, each line below one by one: Click "Select All" above command, right-click the highlighted command, select Copy (or Ctrl+Insert), click in the console terminal window, and right click paste (or Shift+Insert), repeat for each command.

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get purge nvidia*

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:graphics-drivers/ppa

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install nvidia-390
Hope this helps ...

Re: New nvidia card

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:23 pm
by BubbaBlues
Thanks for the quick response phd21! It'll be a few days before I receive the new card but it's a relief to know
that it will be supported. :D

Re: New nvidia card

Posted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:26 pm
by phd21
Hi BubbaBlues,

You are welcome...

Let us know how it works for you when you receive the new nVidia GT 1030 card and run "inxi -Fxzd" and post the results.

Re: New nvidia card

Posted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 4:19 pm
by BubbaBlues
Well I received my GT 1030 card today just used the driver manager to install the recommended driver. I think it was
386. 390 wasn't listed but it seems to be working flawlessly. I have compositor enabled with my desktop cube and
my wobbly windows and no issues. I'm a happy blues man again. :D