[SOLVED] Resize Output Image to Fit HDMI External Monitor

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
OmneBonum
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 1:02 am

[SOLVED] Resize Output Image to Fit HDMI External Monitor

Post by OmneBonum » Sun Jul 29, 2018 1:24 am

The image is too big when output to HDMI monitor. A full-sized window, for instance, is chopped on all sides so that important buttons and text are located off screen.

In Windows I used Intel Graphics and Media Control Panel, and adjusted the scaling from 100 to 60 for both vertical and horizontal. That worked fine. I have done due diligence searching for a solution in forums and investigating the wonders of xrandr but nothing quite works.

Tried, pos, scale, -fb, -fbmm, transform, etc. Tried all the available resolutions. Tried many other things too numerous to mention.

Any thoughts? Appreciated!

Omne

Host: omnebonum-Latitude-3330 Kernel: 4.10.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.6 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine: System: Dell (portable) product: Latitude 3330 v: 01
Mobo: Dell model: N/A Bios: Dell v: A01 date: 05/09/2013
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-2375M (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 5986
clock speeds: max: 1500 MHz 1: 896 MHz 2: 800 MHz 3: 802 MHz
4: 804 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller
bus-ID: 00:02.0
Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1280x720@60.00hz, 1280x720@50.00hz
GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Mobile
GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio: Card Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Family High Definition Audio Controller
driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-38-generic
Network: Card-1: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection
driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: f080 bus-ID: 00:19.0
IF: eno1 state: down mac: <filter>
Card-2: Broadcom BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter
driver: wl bus-ID: 02:00.0
IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives: HDD Total Size: 320.1GB (9.6% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD3200LPVX size: 320.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 36G used: 25G (75%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda6
ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.16GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda7
RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 53.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 194 Uptime: 40 min Memory: 1495.1/3821.3MB
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35
Last edited by OmneBonum on Sun Jul 29, 2018 4:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
roblm
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2657
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Resize Output Image to Fit HDMI External Monitor

Post by roblm » Sun Jul 29, 2018 12:10 pm

What is the brand and model number of the monitor?

With the monitor connected, use this command in the Terminal and post the output: xrandr --prop

OmneBonum
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 1:02 am

Re: Resize Output Image to Fit HDMI External Monitor

Post by OmneBonum » Sun Jul 29, 2018 12:31 pm

Thanks for responding. So eager to fix this!

It's a Sharp (Aquos) 37" model: LC-32A- 39Y

Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1280 x 1440, maximum 32767 x 32767
LVDS1 connected primary 1280x720+0+720 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 293mm x 164mm
EDID:
00ffffffffffff0006af2c3100000000
00160104901d10780215859758538a26
25505400000001010101010101010101
010101010101ec1d56e850001e303020
360025a41000001af31356e850001e30
3020360025a41000001a000000fe0039
44304756804231333358573300000000
00004121960011000001010a202000ac
BACKLIGHT: 976
range: (0, 976)
Backlight: 976
range: (0, 976)
scaling mode: Full aspect
supported: None, Full, Center, Full aspect
1366x768 60.07 + 40.05
1360x768 59.80 59.96
1280x720 60.00*
1024x768 60.00
1024x576 60.00
960x540 60.00
800x600 60.32 56.25
864x486 60.00
640x480 59.94
720x405 60.00
680x384 60.00
640x360 60.00
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
Broadcast RGB: Automatic
supported: Automatic, Full, Limited 16:235
audio: auto
supported: force-dvi, off, auto, on
HDMI1 connected 1280x720+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 820mm x 460mm
EDID:
00ffffffffffff004d10081000000000
ff13010380522e782a1bbea25534b326
144a5200000001010101010101010101
010101010101011d00bc52d01e20b828
554034cc3100001e011d007251d01e20
6e28550034cc3100001e000000fc0053
484152502048444d490a2020000000fd
00313d0f2e08000a2020202020200194
020325724d9384140512031102160715
060123090707830100006a030c001000
800f801501011d80d0721c1620102c25
8034cc3100009e011d8018711c162058
2c250034cc3100009e00000000000000
00000000000000000000000000000000
00000000000000000000000000000000
00000000000000000000000000000047
aspect ratio: Automatic
supported: Automatic, 4:3, 16:9
Broadcast RGB: Automatic
supported: Automatic, Full, Limited 16:235
audio: auto
supported: force-dvi, off, auto, on
1280x720 50.00*+ 60.00 59.94
1920x1080i 60.00 50.00 59.94
720x576 50.00
720x576i 50.00
720x480 60.00 59.94
720x480i 60.00 59.94
640x480 60.00 59.94
VGA1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

User avatar
roblm
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2657
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Resize Output Image to Fit HDMI External Monitor

Post by roblm » Sun Jul 29, 2018 1:36 pm

I could not find any info on the internet for the model number you gave.

There usually is a setting in the TV's on-screen display menu to turn off overscan mode by changing the input mode, which can be named: Just Scan, Full Pixel, True Pixel, Screen Fit, 1:1 Mode, Native Mode, Dot by Dot, 16:9 image scan, or possibly something else.

rene
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2101
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Resize Output Image to Fit HDMI External Monitor

Post by rene » Sun Jul 29, 2018 1:53 pm

Here it is: https://www.sharp.co.uk/cps/rde/xbcr/do ... _OM_GB.pdf.

Page 33 of that PDF; the Sharp term is "Dot by Dot" it seems. You'll after adjusting this on the TV of course want to in Windows disable the computer-side adjustment again...

OmneBonum
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 1:02 am

Re: Resize Output Image to Fit HDMI External Monitor

Post by OmneBonum » Sun Jul 29, 2018 4:02 pm

Well, there's a lesson in problem solving. Because I was able to do it through the computer for Windows, I assumed I had to do the same, only through some equivalent process, in my Linux GUI. As a result, it never occurred to me the problem could be easily solved through the monitor itself. :oops:

THANK YOU VERY MUCH!
Omne

P.S. For future seekers of wisdom who may stumble upon this: The menu item, once WSS was switched on, appears when you hit the WIDE button on the remote, then you need to select UNDERSCAN for 720p (not dot-by-dot, which is for 1080x and, in any case, does not appear on the menu.)

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”