(SOLVED) Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
redpinkoZ1917
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:22 pm

(SOLVED) Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by redpinkoZ1917 » Sun Dec 23, 2018 10:09 pm

viewtopic.php?f=59&t=283601

^After this thread (solution on last page), I got my desired resolution, but a second monitor made my system freeze and I got really bad screen flickering and black outlines around windows even without a second monitor.

I removed the 390.77 drivers, and installed the 390.87 drivers just to see if it fixed it. It didn't fix it, but it did make it a bit less unbearable.
I also removed this code from the xorg.conf because my system seemed to be reading my monitor's edid correctly:

Code: Select all

Section "Device"		
   Identifier   "Device0"  
   Driver   "nvidia"   			
   BusID  "PCI:1:0:0"
   Option "CustomEDID" "DP-1:/home/redpinko/Downloads/.edid.bin"
EndSection
Now my screen has a more intermittent (but still annoying) flicker, and sometimes there is a thick black outline around windows that sometimes leaves a trail that disappears when I go back over it with the window. Also, when I disconnect the second monitor or log back in, both screens will just go black (monitors still on) and I cannot access the terminal.

Here is what the windows look like when glitching:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9MD4vyBiK6s

I've tried disabling effects, but it doesn't seem to do anything.

Thanks for your help

Code: Select all

Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GF119 [NVS 310] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: nvidia (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 2560x1080@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: NVS 310/PCIe/SSE2
           version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.87 Direct Render: Yes

Code: Select all

System:    Host: Nice-Try-FBI Kernel: 4.15.0-43-generic x86_64
           bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1)
           Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP Compaq 6200 Pro SFF PC serial: N/A
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 1497 serial: N/A
           BIOS: Hewlett-Packard v: J01 v02.15 date: 11/10/2011
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5-2500 (-MCP-) 
           arch: Sandy Bridge rev.7 cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 26341
           clock speeds: max: 3700 MHz 1: 1596 MHz 2: 1596 MHz 3: 1596 MHz
           4: 1596 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GF119 [NVS 310] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: nvidia (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 2560x1080@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: NVS 310/PCIe/SSE2
           version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.87 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 NVIDIA GF119 HDMI Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Card-3 XMOS driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 001-004
           Card-4 ASUSTek driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 003-002
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-43-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection
           driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: f040 bus-ID: 00:19.0
           IF: eno1 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Broadcom Limited BCM4360 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: wl bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 6251.2GB (23.8% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST250DM000 size: 250.1GB
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdb model: Backup+_Hub_BK size: 4000.8GB
           ID-3: USB /dev/sdc model: My_Passport_0837 size: 2000.4GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 200G used: 34G (18%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 29.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 238 Uptime: 51 min Memory: 2566.2/7935.5MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56 
Last edited by redpinkoZ1917 on Thu Jan 03, 2019 9:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3362
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by roblm » Mon Dec 24, 2018 11:10 am

There are no newer drivers for your video card but the older nvidia-384 or 340 drivers may be available in Driver Manager to test.

For the flickering, open NVIDIA X Server Settings to the X Server Display Configuration page. Click the Advanced button. Is there an option for ForceCompositionPipeline and ForceFullCompositionPipeline? If you have removed the entire xorg.conf file, then select one of those options. Click Save to X Configuration File. Type: /etc/X11/xorg.conf

For the black outlines, check this topic: viewtopic.php?f=208&t=272536, or try Mint MATE or Xfce.

redpinkoZ1917
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by redpinkoZ1917 » Mon Dec 24, 2018 1:33 pm

roblm wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 11:10 am
There are no newer drivers for your video card but the older nvidia-384 or 340 drivers may be available in Driver Manager to test.

For the flickering, open NVIDIA X Server Settings to the X Server Display Configuration page. Click the Advanced button. Is there an option for ForceCompositionPipeline and ForceFullCompositionPipeline? If you have removed the entire xorg.conf file, then select one of those options. Click Save to X Configuration File. Type: /etc/X11/xorg.conf

For the black outlines, check this topic: viewtopic.php?f=208&t=272536, or try Mint MATE or Xfce.
What is really strange is sometimes the nouveau drivers load instead of the nvidia ones despite them being blacklisted in nvidia-graphics-drivers.conf

https://termbin.com/v6ha1

^Late last night I went into the chat, and they had me do journalctl -b --pri=4 | nc termbin.com 9999
They suggested cryptswap1 might be culprit for my crashing issues too. I ran it again when the nouveau drivers loaded, and there were even more errors.

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3362
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by roblm » Mon Dec 24, 2018 3:55 pm


redpinkoZ1917
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by redpinkoZ1917 » Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:52 pm

roblm wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 3:55 pm
viewtopic.php?f=90&t=274157
Thank you! That fixed that error problem. Still did not let me connect a second monitor without crashing though.

Also, I seem to login every time now with a black screen and mouse pointer. The only way I can get the gui up is if I do CNTRL+ALT+F1 then CNTRL+ALT+F7.

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3362
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by roblm » Mon Dec 24, 2018 8:05 pm

redpinkoZ1917 wrote: What is really strange is sometimes the nouveau drivers load instead of the nvidia ones despite them being blacklisted in nvidia-graphics-drivers.conf
1. How do you know that for sure?

2. Did you disable the integrated Intel graphics in the BIOS, because on some PCs both the integrated GPU and Discrete card can be enabled at the same time?

3. I assume your NVS 310 has two DisplayPort connectors. Are you using an adapter to connect to the second monitor?

4. What is the brand and model number of the second monitor?

5. Is the nvidia-340 or 384 driver available in Driver Manager?

6. Can you connect just the second monitor and post the output of xrandr --prop and mokutil --sb-state

redpinkoZ1917
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by redpinkoZ1917 » Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:39 am

So, I have been tinkering around with the xorg.conf file, and I have made a few developments through trial and error and reading about the various commands and syntax. The secondary monitor works with these settings, but there's still a flicker and the system still freezes if it's plugged in or out before I turn the system on. The screen also has to be on.

Code: Select all

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "LG Electronics LG ULTRAWIDE"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 90.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Tech Concepts TCL"
    HorizSync       14.0 - 70.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 85.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "NVS 310"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0" 
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "UseNvKmsCompositionPipeline" "false"
    Option         "ModeValidation" "NoExtendedGpuCapabilitiesCheck"
    Option         "Stereo" "0"
    Option         "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DP-1:2560x1080_60 +0+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On, ForceFullCompositionPipeline=On}, DP-0:1920x1080_60 +0+0 {ForceCompositionPipeline=On, ForceFullCompositionPipeline=On}"
    Option         "SLI" "Off"
    Option         "MultiGPU" "Off"
    Option         "BaseMosaic" "off"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "UseNvKmsCompositionPipeline" "false"
    Option         "ModeValidation" "NoExtendedGpuCapabilitiesCheck"
    Option         "Stereo" "0"
    Option         "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    Option         "SLI" "Off"
    Option         "MultiGPU" "Off"
    Option         "BaseMosaic" "off"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
roblm wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 8:05 pm
1. How do you know that for sure?
The inxi -Gx would tell me. I fixed it by reinstalling the drivers.
2. Did you disable the integrated Intel graphics in the BIOS, because on some PCs both the integrated GPU and Discrete card can be enabled at the same time?
It is indeed disabled
3. I assume your NVS 310 has two DisplayPort connectors. Are you using an adapter to connect to the second monitor?
That is correct. I'm using a cable that runs from DP to HDMI into an HDMI switch because this second monitor connected to my gaming system aswell.
4. What is the brand and model number of the second monitor?
TCL 40S305
5. Is the nvidia-340 or 384 driver available in Driver Manager?
Yes; however, I was not having much luck with it before.
Image
roblm wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 8:05 pm
6. Can you connect just the second monitor and post the output of xrandr --prop and mokutil --sb-state

Code: Select all

xrandr --prop
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 16384 x 16384
DP-0 connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 800mm x 450mm
	CscMatrix: 65536 0 0 0 0 65536 0 0 0 0 65536 0 
	EDID: 
		00ffffffffffff00506c000001010101
		031b0103805932780a0dc9a057479827
		12484ca14b008180d1c0590f01010101
		010101010101023a801871382d40582c
		450020c23100001e011d007251d01e20
		6e28550044402100001e000000fc0054
		434c0a202020202020202020000000fd
		0032550e4610000a20202020202001f1
		02032d70521413121116150504030207
		06011f102021228301000067030c0010
		00b82d29097f01157f50570700011d80
		d0721c1620102c258044402100009e01
		1d8018711c1620582c25004440210000
		98011d00bc52d01e20b8285540444021
		00001e011d007251d01e206e28550044
		4021001e000000000000000000000042
	BorderDimensions: 4 
		supported: 4
	Border: 0 0 0 0 
		range: (0, 65535)
	SignalFormat: TMDS 
		supported: TMDS
	ConnectorType: DisplayPort 
	ConnectorNumber: 0 
	_ConnectorLocation: 1 
   1920x1080     60.00*+  59.94    50.00    29.97    25.00    23.98    60.05    60.00    50.04  
   1280x1024     75.02    60.02  
   1280x720      60.00    59.94    50.00  
   1280x660      60.00  
   1024x768      75.03    60.00  
   960x600       75.00  
   800x600       75.00    60.32  
   720x576       50.00  
   720x480       59.94  
   640x480       59.94    59.93  
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
	CscMatrix: 65536 0 0 0 0 65536 0 0 0 0 65536 0 
	BorderDimensions: 4 
		supported: 4
	Border: 0 0 0 0 
		range: (0, 65535)
	SignalFormat: TMDS 
		supported: TMDS
	ConnectorType: DisplayPort 
	ConnectorNumber: 1 
	_ConnectorLocation: 2 
DP-2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
	CscMatrix: 65536 0 0 0 0 65536 0 0 0 0 65536 0 
	BorderDimensions: 4 
		supported: 4
	Border: 0 0 0 0 
		range: (0, 65535)
	SignalFormat: DisplayPort 
		supported: DisplayPort
	ConnectorType: DisplayPort 
	ConnectorNumber: 0 
	_ConnectorLocation: 1 
DP-3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
	CscMatrix: 65536 0 0 0 0 65536 0 0 0 0 65536 0 
	BorderDimensions: 4 
		supported: 4
	Border: 0 0 0 0 
		range: (0, 65535)
	SignalFormat: DisplayPort 
		supported: DisplayPort
	ConnectorType: DisplayPort 
	ConnectorNumber: 1 
	_ConnectorLocation: 2 

Code: Select all

mokutil --sb-state
EFI variables are not supported on this system

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3362
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by roblm » Tue Dec 25, 2018 9:43 am

Your xorg.conf file has some errors. Each Screen section must have it’s own Identifier name, but you don’t need two sections unless you’re connecting monitors to two different GPUs and have Xinerama enabled. Then you also need to list both Screens in the ServerLayout section.

The Horizontal and Vertical frequency ranges listed in the Monitor sections won’t be read by the Nvidia driver unless this line is also added: Option "UseEdidFreqs" "false"

The ForceFullCompositionPipeline and ForceCompositionPipeline options should be used one at a time. If you open NVIDIA X Server Settings, only one of those can be selected.

Adding those options now has a newer simpler format for newer drivers, which I added to the Screen section in the xorg.conf file below.

The MetaModes line has the same X & Y coordinates (+0+0) for both screens. This will mirror the image on both screens. Is that what you want?
If you want an extended desktop across both screens, then a line like this is needed:

Code: Select all

Option "MetaModes" "DP-1:2560x1080_60 +0+0, DP-0:1920x1080_60 +2560+0"

Here is a very basic xorg.conf file with all the unnecessary lines removed:

Code: Select all

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    ModelName      "LG Electronics LG ULTRAWIDE"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 90.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    ModelName      "Tech Concepts TCL"
    HorizSync       14.0 - 70.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 85.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    Option "UseEdidFreqs" "false"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0" 
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "UseNvKmsCompositionPipeline" "false"
    Option         "ForceFullCompositionPipeline" "true"
    Option         "ModeValidation" "NoExtendedGpuCapabilitiesCheck"
    Option         "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
    Option         "MetaModes" "DP-1:2560x1080_60 +0+0, DP-0:1920x1080_60 +0+0"
EndSection

Here is what I suggest trying. Use the xorg.conf file above, but you may need to change the MetaModes line. You can rename the existing one in case you need it:
mv /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.old

Do all the steps needed to get to the desktop with both monitors working. Use this command to remove the monitors.xml file: rm ~/.config/monitors.xml

Open the Display program and click the Apply button. Reboot.

redpinkoZ1917
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by redpinkoZ1917 » Tue Dec 25, 2018 1:55 pm

roblm wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 9:43 am
Do all the steps needed to get to the desktop with both monitors working. Use this command to remove the monitors.xml file: rm ~/.config/monitors.xml

Open the Display program and click the Apply button. Reboot.
Awesome, I heeded your advice, and I am so very close to my desired setup.

One more thing though, are there any xorg.conf settings that assist hotplugging? The settings you gave me allowed for the second monitor to be activated after the system has been turned on without error; however, unplugging the monitor (TLC) still makes the system freeze. Logging out with the second display attached also causes a freeze.

Thank you! Here are my current settings. Keep in mind that I switched ports for both of the monitors, physically and in the settings, so I could get GRUB on my main monitor.

Code: Select all

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    ModelName      "LG Electronics LG ULTRAWIDE"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 90.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    ModelName      "Tech Concepts TCL"
    HorizSync       14.0 - 70.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 85.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    Option "UseEdidFreqs" "false"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0" 
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "UseNvKmsCompositionPipeline" "false"
    Option         "ForceFullCompositionPipeline" "true"
    Option         "ModeValidation" "NoExtendedGpuCapabilitiesCheck"
    Option         "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
    Option         "MetaModes" "DP-0:2560x1080_60 +0+0, DP-1:1920x1080_60 +2560+0"
EndSection

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3362
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by roblm » Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:34 pm

redpinkoZ1917 wrote: One more thing though, are there any xorg.conf settings that assist hotplugging? The settings you gave me allowed for the second monitor to be activated after the system has been turned on without error; however, unplugging the monitor (TLC) still makes the system freeze. Logging out with the second display attached also causes a freeze.
Yes, according to this Nvidia Readme, under the section: Appendix B. X Config Options
http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/L ... tions.html

You can try adding the X Config option Option "UseHotplugEvents" "false" to the Device or Screen section. Nvidia says this:
When this option is enabled, the NVIDIA X driver will generate RandR display changed events when displays are plugged into or unplugged from an NVIDIA GPU. Some desktop environments will listen for these events and dynamically reconfigure the desktop when displays are added or removed.
Disabling this option suppresses the generation of these RandR events for non-DisplayPort displays, i.e., ones connected via VGA, DVI, or HDMI. Hotplug events cannot be suppressed for displays connected via DisplayPort.
However, it may work because you’re using an adapter for the second monitor.

redpinkoZ1917 wrote: Keep in mind that I switched ports for both of the monitors, physically and in the settings, so I could get GRUB on my main monitor.
If you want to use your original setup, then try using this line:

Code: Select all

Option "MetaModes" "DP-1:2560x1080_60 +1920+0, DP-0:1920x1080_60 +0+0"

redpinkoZ1917
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by redpinkoZ1917 » Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:49 pm

roblm wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:34 pm
You can try adding the X Config option Option "UseHotplugEvents" "false" to the Device or Screen section.
Unfortunately that did not work, and the flickering still persists.

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3362
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by roblm » Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:08 pm

Try testing this X Config option: Option "nvidiaXineramaInfo" "false"

When using that option, add a pound sign (#) in front of this line, to disable it:
Option "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"


Are you seeing flickering on both monitors?
Try using the other option: Option "ForceCompositionPipeline" "true"

redpinkoZ1917
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by redpinkoZ1917 » Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:41 pm

roblm wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:08 pm
Try testing this X Config option: Option "nvidiaXineramaInfo" "false"

When using that option, add a pound sign (#) in front of this line, to disable it:
Option "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"


Are you seeing flickering on both monitors?
Yeah the flickering is on both monitors, simultaneously.

To be clear, the recommended edit should look like this (with everything that was already in the xorg.conf right?
Option "nvidiaXineramaInfo" "false"
#Option "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"

If so, that edit caused cinnamon to crash and revert into fallback mode. Was still able to boot tho.

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3362
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by roblm » Tue Dec 25, 2018 4:01 pm

redpinkoZ1917 wrote: To be clear, the recommended edit should look like this (with everything that was already in the xorg.conf right?
Option "nvidiaXineramaInfo" "false"
#Option "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
That was correct. Remove the pound sign and remove Option "nvidiaXineramaInfo" "false"
Try testing this option:
Option "nvidiaXineramaInfoOverride" "2560x1080+0+0, 1920x1080+2560+0"

redpinkoZ1917
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by redpinkoZ1917 » Tue Dec 25, 2018 6:33 pm

roblm wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 4:01 pm
That was correct. Remove the pound sign and remove Option "nvidiaXineramaInfo" "false"
Try testing this option:
Option "nvidiaXineramaInfoOverride" "2560x1080+0+0, 1920x1080+2560+0"
That crashed cinnamon aswell

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3362
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by roblm » Tue Dec 25, 2018 8:22 pm

Try adding the TLC monitor’s EDID to the xorg.conf file. Since the Nvidia driver is installed, there is a quicker way to get it. Open NVIDIA X Server Settings. On the left side will be the name of the monitor and the output it is connected to. Click on it and then click the Acquire EDID button on the right. The file will be saved as edid.bin


Try using these commands to turn off the TLC monitor and back on:

Code: Select all

xrandr --output DP-1 --off
xrandr --output DP-0 --mode 2560x1080 --rate 60 --pos 0x0  --output DP-1 --mode 1920x1080 --rate 60 --pos 2560x0
If there is no freeze, then use the first command to turn off the TLC. Then log out and back in and use the second command to turn it back on.

If that works without a freeze, then two desktop launchers can be created that execute the xrandr commands.

Under System Settings > General, try setting to ON: Disable compositing for full-screen windows.

Mint Cinnamon 19.1 has a newer 4.18 kernel available in Update Manager.

I also suggest testing a Live Session of Mint MATE. It has options for other Window Managers. Go to Preferences > Desktop Settings > Windows > Window Manager. Test changing the default setting to Marco + Compton, Compiz and others.

Other options are to test the older 4.4 kernel and download the nvidia-384 driver from Nvidia’s website. I will give you instructions if you decide on that.

Last option. Get a new video card that has HDMI and DVI ports.

redpinkoZ1917
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by redpinkoZ1917 » Tue Dec 25, 2018 10:30 pm

I'm gonna try replacing the KVM switch with something of better quality. I have a feeling that a lot of these issues might by stemming from the switch I kinda cheaped out on. For the LG Ultrawide I'm using MT-VIKI 2port HDMI KVM, and for the TLC I'm using XtremPro two way HDMI switch. The MT-VIKI doesn't cut the signal on switch, so I am just going to get another one of those. Hopefully it does something for the login issues and occasional flicker. Thanks for your help roblm, and nvidia needs to get their shit together regardless.

redpinkoZ1917
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by redpinkoZ1917 » Sat Dec 29, 2018 5:31 pm

So I fixed all the issues by installing the 340 driver. The only problem that remains is my original original one. My resolution (2560x1080) is not detected by my main monitor, so my old xorg.conf settings do not work in that regard. Also my login screen is popping up on DP-1 for some reason.

redpinkoZ1917
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:22 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by redpinkoZ1917 » Sat Dec 29, 2018 7:19 pm

wrote:It depends on the custom edid you're using. Maybe leave that out and use ignoreedid option since you also have a monitor section.
Well, I atleast think I figured out why it isn't working.

Running xed /var/log/Xorg.0.log with the debug option in the file, I found this:

Code: Select all


[  1937.611] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):   Validating Mode "2560x1080":
[  1937.611] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     2560 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
[  1937.611] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     Mode Source: EDID
[  1937.611] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       Pixel Clock      : 185.58 MHz
[  1937.611] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       HRes, HSyncStart : 2560, 2624
[  1937.611] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       HSyncEnd, HTotal : 2688, 2784
[  1937.611] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       VRes, VSyncStart : 1080, 1083
[  1937.611] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       VSyncEnd, VTotal : 1093, 1111
[  1937.611] (II) NVIDIA(GPU-0):       H/V Polarity     : -/-
[  1937.611] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0):    [b] Mode is rejected: PixelClock (185.6 MHz) too high for[/b]
[  1937.611] (WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0):     [b]Display Device (Max: 165.0 MHz).[/b]
Whole file: https://gist.github.com/redpinko1917/92 ... 245f2a3a9b

xorg:

Code: Select all

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    ModelName      "LG Electronics LG ULTRAWIDE"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 90.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    ModelName      "Tech Concepts TCL"
    HorizSync       14.0 - 70.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 85.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    Option         "CustomEDID" "DP-0:/home/redpinko/edid.bin, DP-1:/home/redpinko/edid2.bin"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0" 
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "UseNvKmsCompositionPipeline" "false"
    Option         "ForceFullCompositionPipeline" "true"
    Option         "ModeValidation" "NoExtendedGpuCapabilitiesCheck"
    Option         "nvidiaXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
    Option         "MetaModes" "DP-0:2560x1080_60 +0+0, DP-1:1920x1080_60 +2560+0"
    Option         "ModeDebug" "true"
EndSection

User avatar
roblm
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3362
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Occasional screen flicker and black square around windows

Post by roblm » Sat Dec 29, 2018 8:26 pm

Did you see these warning lines from the log file:

Code: Select all

[  1937.578] (WW) NVIDIA(0): Unable to use EDID file '/home/redpinko/edid.bin,
[ 1937.578] (WW) NVIDIA(0): DP-1:/home/redpinko/edid2.bin': No such file or directory

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”