How do I install AMD Radeon HD 5670 proprietary drivers?

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Ziad

How do I install AMD Radeon HD 5670 proprietary drivers?

Post by Ziad »

I'm completely new to linux mint and I have just installed linux mint 19.1 but when I tried to install my amd radeon hd 5670 drivers from the driver manager it said no proprietary drivers are in use so I tried to download them from the official site and I downloaded this zip file (amd-catalyst-15.9-linux-installer-15.201.1151-x86.x86_64.zip) but I don't know how to install it so please if anyone knows how to install it please tell me how step by step because I am completely clueless :(
if this is going to help my pc name is optiplex 3010
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
deepakdeshp
Level 20
Level 20

Re: How do I install AMD Radeon HD 5670 proprietary drivers?

Post by deepakdeshp »

Please post output of

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
command in code tags.
Many of the AMD CPUs aren't supported for Linux drivers. You should be able to search for them. if you forcefully try installing the drivers on unsupported AMD CPUs, there are good chance to bork the system.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help.
Regards,
Deepak

Mint 21.1 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A6 / 8GB
Mint 21.1 Cinnamon AMD Ryzen3500U/8gb
richyrich

Post by richyrich »

AMD dropped linux support for your video card a while ago. Your radeon/ati drivers that are included within the linux kernel are the best that you can get.

(Suggestion: If you don't like it, talk to AMD support)
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4

Post by RemonK »

I have the Hawk R5770
Guessing the same for me too.. no support?