Forum rules
Before you post please read this
shishkovdima
Level 1
Level 1

(GTX980Ti) OpenCL slower then on Windows 7

Post by shishkovdima » Thu Aug 15, 2019 2:32 pm

Hello everyone,

I am a total noob in Linux so please excuse me in advance, if I ask stupid questions. I am a 3D designer and have been working a lot with Houdini lately. I heard a lot of great stuff about Linux, especially about it's stability and performance and decided to give it a try. I installed it as dual boot alongside Windows 7 on my PC at home. Yesterday I did a couple tests to see the difference in performance between Windows 7 and Linux Mint. I did a pretty simple fluid simulation in Houdini. The solver responsible for fluid simulation uses OpenCL to speed up the simulation. I simulated 100 frames in Windows and in Linux with OpenCL acceleration on and off. The sim with OpenCL acceleration on turned out to be around 12% slower on Linux compared to Windows 7. On the other hand the simulation with OpenCL acceleration off was faster by around 30% on Linux then on Windows. On Houdini forums I read that OpenCL worked for them faster on Linux then on Windows. This is why I am having doubts. Maybe due to my lack of knowledge and understanding I setup something incorrectly and it affects the work of the GPU.

I am using GTX980Ti with proprietary drivers. I tried to run the test with the latest drivers and with older drivers (the info below will show older drivers which I left for now), results are almost identical.

Here is the information about the system and hardware I got from terminal with inxi -b command:

Code: Select all

System:
  Host: dima-PC Kernel: 4.15.0-58-generic x86_64 bits: 64 
  Desktop: Cinnamon 4.2.3 Distro: Linux Mint 19.2 Tina 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop System: ASUS product: All Series v: N/A 
  serial: <root required> 
  Mobo: ASUSTeK model: H97M-E v: Rev X.0x serial: <root required> 
  UEFI: American Megatrends v: 0336 date: 05/22/2014 
CPU: