Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
edwin_fox
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:15 pm

Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by edwin_fox »

Greetings, everyone!

My desktop PC used to run smoothly on LM MATE using Radeon HD 5750, but today I got a better card (GEFORCE GTX 660 ti) and decided to put it in use.

I turned off the PC, changed cards, turned it on, and then hell broke loose. Both cards go as far as the GRUB screen, but from there on both show bogus behaviour.

It's worth mentioning that the Radeon card was working fine until I swapped it with Geforce's; after putting Radeon's back in the PC, it started showing the following behaviour:

While on Geforce:
- After choosing the OS, the screen gets to the Mint loading logo but, instead of getting to the login screen, it just blinks and quickly shows something that seems to be an error message (something about Nouveau - sorry it's REALLY quick I can't read it and type here)
- On recovery mode it just freezes right after checking the SATA drivers: the cursor's still blinking, but the keyboard's unresponsive and the HDD lights are off

While on Radeon:

- After choosing the OS, the screen just turns black and the PC reboots.

- After choosing recovery mode it shows the following errors:
==> ata6.00: ACPI cmd f5/00:00:00:00:00:00 (SECURITY FREEZE LOCK) filtered out
==> ata6.00: ACPI cmd b1/c1:00:00:00:00:00 (DEVICE CONFIGURATION OVERLAY) filtered out
...and then the numlock key lights off, the keyboard becomes unresponsive, all while the HDD light shows activity

ALSO, if I reboot and try rec mode again on Radeon, sometimes it prompts me these errors instead:
==> [drm] VGACON disable radeon kernel modesetting
==> [drm:radeon_init [radeon]] *ERROR* No UMS support in radeon module!

The only way I can access my PC is by using the motherboard video card, which, needless to say, has a gruesome performance and doesn't support the kinds of apps I need for work.

So... I've browsed all over the internet before posting this here. I read many different suggestions as to what the problem may be - most of them hinting that it might be some driver problem. I've tried a couple suggestions (as adding some parameters to the GRUB launch), but with no success.

The thing's driving me crazy because I've cross-checked every other piece of hardware and everything is working fine (cables, connectors, RAM modules, processor, CPU...). And I literally did nothing besides swapping graphic cards, I didn't meddle with drivers, neither installed some software during the process. I am absolutely puzzled.

I've spent my whole Saturday on this stygean enigma, and my concern is that I rely on my PC for working at home and it REALLY needs to be working by tomorrow.

What am I missing?
User avatar
SMG
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4837
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by SMG »

Welcome to the forum, edwin_fox.

That does sound like quite odd regarding not being able to put the Radeon HD 5750 back in without an issue. :?

It's getting late for me and I am off to bed, but I did want to pass along info regarding Nvidia. Nvidia drivers are not included in the kernel. You would have to use nomodeset to boot into the system without the driver so you could go to Driver Manager and install the driver. Either the Nvidia-450 (long-term branch driver) or Nvidia-455 (short-term branch driver) should work.

You have not mentioned what version of LM you are using, but here are instructions for getting Nvidia drivers installed on LM20 Release Notes for Linux Mint 20 Cinnamon. Scroll to section on 'Solving freezes during the boot sequence'.

Make sure you have Secure Boot turned off before installing the Nvidia drivers and rebooting. If for some reason you can not get Secure Boot turned off, you will have to sign the Nvidia driver so it will load.

If you are able to get into your system to get system info, that would be helpful. Please give us information about your install by entering this command in a terminal:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxxxrz
Click </> from the mini toolbar above the textbox where you type your reply and then place your cursor between the code markers and paste the results of the command between the code markers [code]Results[/code]. This will let us know how Mint sees your hardware.
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.1 Cinnamon.
edwin_fox
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:15 pm

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by edwin_fox »

Thanks for the cozy reception and the swift reply, SMG! :)

So, here's the output:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: edwin-Z97M-D3H Kernel: 5.6.0-050600-generic x86_64
           bits: 64 gcc: 9.3.0
           Desktop: MATE 1.20.1 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu3) info: mate-panel dm: lightdm
           Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: Gigabyte model: Z97M-D3H v: x.x serial: N/A
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: F5 date: 05/30/2014
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5-4670K (-MCP-) 
           arch: Haswell rev.3 cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 27199
           clock speeds: min/max: 800/3800 MHz 1: 1128 MHz 2: 1291 MHz
           3: 1195 MHz 4: 1176 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
           bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:0412
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.6
           drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1280x720@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Haswell Desktop
           version: 4.5 Mesa 19.2.8 (compat-v: 3.0) Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:03.0 chip-ID: 8086:0c0c
           Card-2 Intel 9 Series Family HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:8ca0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k5.6.0-050600-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 port: e000 bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8168
           IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1570.3GB (24.0% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WL750GSA3272 size: 750.2GB
           serial: <filter> temp: 32C
           ID-2: /dev/sdd model: MAXTOR_STM316021 size: 160.0GB
           serial: <filter> temp: 40C
           ID-3: /dev/sdc model: SAMSUNG_HD502HJ size: 500.1GB
           serial: <filter> temp: 35C
           ID-4: /dev/sdb model: MAXTOR_STM316021 size: 160.0GB
           serial: <filter> temp: 41C
Partition: ID-1: / size: 458G used: 352G (81%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc1
RAID:      System: supported: N/A
           No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
           Unused Devices: none
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 43.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/bablu-boy-nutty_0_1-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/bablu-boy/nutty.0.1/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/bablu-boy/nutty.0.1/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/cybermax-dexter-sdl2-backport-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/cybermax-dexter/sdl2-backport/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/cybermax-dexter/sdl2-backport/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/gregory-hainaut-pcsx2_official_ppa-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/gregory-hainaut/pcsx2.official.ppa/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/gregory-hainaut/pcsx2.official.ppa/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/inkscape_dev-stable-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/inkscape.dev/stable/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/inkscape.dev/stable/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/kisak-kisak-mesa-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/kisak/kisak-mesa/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/kisak/kisak-mesa/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/lutris-team-lutris-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/lutris-team/lutris/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/lutris-team/lutris/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/noobslab-apps-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/noobslab/apps/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/noobslab/apps/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
           deb http://packages.linuxmint.com tara main upstream import backport #id:linuxmint_main
           deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-backports main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic-security main restricted universe multiverse
           deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ bionic partner
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/oibaf-graphics-drivers-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/oibaf/graphics-drivers/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/oibaf/graphics-drivers/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/openrct2-nightly-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/openrct2/nightly/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/openrct2/nightly/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/osmoma-audio-recorder-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/osmoma/audio-recorder/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/osmoma/audio-recorder/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/rael-gc-ubuntu-xboxdrv-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/rael-gc/ubuntu-xboxdrv/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/rael-gc/ubuntu-xboxdrv/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/stebbins-handbrake-releases-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/stebbins/handbrake-releases/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/stebbins/handbrake-releases/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/ubuntu-x-swat-updates-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/ubuntu-x-swat/updates/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/ubuntu-x-swat/updates/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/webupd8team-java-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/webupd8team/java/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/webupd8team/java/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/winehq.list
           deb https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/ubuntu/ bionic main
Info:      Processes: 214 Uptime: 19 min Memory: 1554.4/15845.0MB
           Init: systemd v: 237 runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.5.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191 running in mate-terminal) inxi: 2.3.56 
As for the drivers... that's the problem. I can't log into LM while having any of the GPUs on the motherboard, hence I cannot install any of Nvidia's (nor Radeon's) drivers as both require the GPU active in the PC. Neither has your suggestion worked (nomodeset) - it just portrays the same odd behaviours (reboots, error messages, just as in the OP). I managed to log in using the motherboard's native port, and I have just tried to install Nvidia's 450... it forbids me to install it while there is no Nvidia GPU in the system.

The thing that bugs me the most is that I really can't understand why Radeon's simply ceased to function after I tried using Nvidia. I'm not much of a Linux Wiz, so the only (quasi-) logical explanation I have is that Mint somehow messed up something while loading Nvidia's and it's messing up Radeon's drivers...

I really would love to have this Geforce working here, but at this point I'd be more than glad to have at least one of them GPUs working. I'd hate to resort to reinstalling Mint once again, it's so much trouble having to reinstall every app, reconfiguring preferences, usw...
User avatar
SMG
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4837
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by SMG »

The 5.6 kernel is not supported for either LM19 or LM20. For LM19 the supported kernels are 4.15 and 5.4. If you need to use something newer than 5.4 then you'll need to install LM20 so you can use the 5.8 kernel.

System: Host: edwin-Z97M-D3H Kernel: 5.6.0-050600-generic x86_64
bits: 64 gcc: 9.3.0
Desktop: MATE 1.20.1 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu3) info: mate-panel dm: lightdm
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara

It is also possible there is something in your BIOS that might be contributing to this issue.

Machine: Device: desktop Mobo: Gigabyte model: Z97M-D3H v: x.x serial: N/A
BIOS: American Megatrends v: F5 date: 05/30/2014

As an FYI, your partition is getting quite full which can impact performance in general. (I would not suspect it to be a factor in the current issue.)
Partition: ID-1: / size: 458G used: 352G (81%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdc1

I have no idea how the kisak PPA might affect an Nvidia install. I've never heard of anyone using kisak with Nvidia. What are you using from oibaf PPA? That's also one I've not seen anyone with Nvidia use.

Code: Select all

Repos:  Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/kisak-kisak-mesa-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/kisak/kisak-mesa/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/kisak/kisak-mesa/ubuntu bionic main
           
           Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/oibaf-graphics-drivers-bionic.list
           deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/oibaf/graphics-drivers/ubuntu bionic main
           deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/oibaf/graphics-drivers/ubuntu bionic main

My advice based on your situation (ie. needing to be able to use the computer for work real soon), I would suggest you change the kernel to one of the supported ones and put the Radeon back in.

What may have happened is removing the graphics card caused the AMD kernel modules to rebuild, but I do not know that for sure.

Having a supported kernel installed might help with the Nvidia install, but I do not know how the graphics PPA's you installed might affect Nvidia. It might not, but it's a total wildcard at this point. I see all your repos and realize you have a lot of software installed, but for switching to Nvidia, I would recommend moving to a fresh install of LM20. (LM20 does have newer versions of Xorg and mesa.)

If you have snapshots of your system without those PPA's then you may be able to roll back to them and change the kernel to a supported one and get the Nvidia drivers installed from Driver Manager. It may also be possible that just changing to the 5.4 kernel will clear the issues and you can get the Nvidia drivers installed.

The key is changing the kernel to something supported.
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.1 Cinnamon.
User avatar
trytip
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4933
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by trytip »

when you take a some hardware out that already has an in out address, the system is looking for that address. i changed video cards a while back on my old 2007 computer and it had two slots for video output which didn't work i said lets try the other slot

if you can boot with a live mint the issue is your current configuration. you say you've tried some grub parameters but don't mention which or how. use nomodeset quiet splash at boot with the new card for start
https://askubuntu.com/questions/38780/h ... led-ubuntu
Image
edwin_fox
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:15 pm

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by edwin_fox »

After considering all your suggestions I decided that maybe it would be best if I just fresh installed LM20, so I got the iso, checked it,mounted it in a pendrive, and tested its boot without any GPU. It's working fine.

So, I removed every peripheral besides the essentials for installing, and plugged Radeon's first. I used every flag the LM20 installation tutorial suggests, but it still freezes: this time, right after the routine recognises the usb ports. I also tried Geforce's afterwards, without any luck either. Also, I tested both cards, one at a time, on both GPU slots so as to eliminate the chance that one of them be faulty. Both procedures are further described below (as I am currently typing on a mobile, it's tough to type the long number strings at some of the errors; I'll post hem if you consider it pertinent to the case)

Radeon's
It displays the same drm-related errors as described in the OP; Also, there seems to be more than three 'ACPI Warning' errors followed by big number strings. After using nouveau.noaccel=1, it freezes right after running /scripts/nfs-premount ... done. It also shows three '[drm] Cannot find any crtc or sizes' messages.

Geforce's (using nouveau.noaccel=1)
The prompt shows no errors (as far as I can see, as it's frozen and I can't scroll it up); it freezes at the same point as Radeon's.

The Grub that came with the iso is 2.04 - could that be a problem? Also, I don't really think the problem's in the BIOS - I mean, I haven't changed a single parameter there since when Radeon was still working fine.
User avatar
SMG
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4837
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by SMG »

Were you not able to boot using nomodeset? That is the kernel parameter we normally recommend trying first. (both for AMD and for Nvidia)
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.1 Cinnamon.
edwin_fox
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:15 pm

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by edwin_fox »

SMG wrote:
Sun Jan 03, 2021 6:23 pm
Were you not able to boot using nomodeset? That is the kernel parameter we normally recommend trying first. (both for AMD and for Nvidia)
Nay... Actually, it's a preset in LM20's compatibility mode
User avatar
SMG
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4837
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by SMG »

edwin_fox wrote:
Sun Jan 03, 2021 6:30 pm
SMG wrote:
Sun Jan 03, 2021 6:23 pm
Were you not able to boot using nomodeset? That is the kernel parameter we normally recommend trying first. (both for AMD and for Nvidia)
Nay... Actually, it's a preset in LM20's compatibility mode
There is no "compatibility mode" after you have installed Mint.

I understood you to say you have Mint installed which means you need to get Nvidia drivers installed next. The recommendation to get Nvidia drivers installed is to follow the video in the 'Solving freezes during the boot sequence' section of the Release Notes for Linux Mint 20 Cinnamon which explains how to add nomodeset to grub for the current boot so one can install the Nvidia driver from Driver Manager.
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.1 Cinnamon.
edwin_fox
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:15 pm

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by edwin_fox »

So... As I mentioned in the other reply, I decided to install it on a fresh install (LM20). All the procedure I've posted here today is related to that attempt. The compatibility mode right at the grub from the iso prior to the installation already bears the nomodeset, that is what I meant (sorry if I wasn't clear)
edwin_fox
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:15 pm

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by edwin_fox »

It doesn't even get to the login/install screen, it just freezes before that. The only way I can get to the iso OS is to reboot without any gpu
edwin_fox
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:15 pm

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by edwin_fox »

Shoud I install it without any gpu inserted so that only after installing and rebooting it I insert one of the gpus and try fetching its drivers? Sorry for the string of replies, it's awful to type and edit on this tiny screen
User avatar
SMG
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4837
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by SMG »

Usually, using compatibility mode works for booting the ISO with an Nvidia graphics card installed. I've not heard of people removing the card in order to get Mint installed. I'll go check your inxi data again to see if I get any ideas of what might be happening.
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.1 Cinnamon.
edwin_fox
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2021 7:15 pm

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by edwin_fox »

I think I got it! After banging my head on the wall for a while, I decided to strip the pc naked and try every combination possible with the minimum hardware. So, I found out that for mystical reasons two of my rams were conflicting with the graphic cards - removing both and using just two 4gb rams made it to the old LM install! Though I hafe absolutely no idea why in heavens would the couple ram sticks work fine w/o gpu but would lock it up if used. Thanks for all the support, mate! :D
User avatar
SMG
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4837
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Changed from Radeon to Geforce; now neither work (nor the OS)

Post by SMG »

Great news! Glad your system is functional again.

Since I had part of this typed out already, I'll just post it to make sure it doesn't come up as a future issue.

I pulled up GA-Z97M-D3H (rev. 1.0) Specs and it indicates under expansion slots
Expansion Slots
1. 1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x16 (PCIEX16)
* For optimum performance, if only one PCI Express graphics card is to be installed, be sure to install it in the PCIEX16 slot.
(The PCIEX16 slot conforms to PCI Express 3.0 standard.)
2. 1 x PCI Express x16 slot, running at x4 (PCIEX4)
(The PCIEX4 slot conforms to PCI Express 2.0 standard.)
3. 2 x PCI slots
So I presume you originally the graphic card in the PCIEX16 slot (although you indicated you tried both).

One of my thoughts has been whether the PSU might be the issue somehow. I just checked the specs for the two cards:
ATI Radeon HD 5750 suggests a 250 Watt power supply
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 Ti suggests a 450 Watt power supply

So the Nvidia card does have a much bigger draw. Some of the differences you saw and mentioned in the first post did seem like they could be power related and it crossed my mind that the PSU might be a factor.

Hopefully, moving to the Nvidia card some time in the future will go smoother now you have the tips from this thread. :D
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.1 Cinnamon.
Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”