nvidia 340 drivers freezing Mint 20.2?

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Cubytus
Level 1
Level 1

nvidia 340 drivers freezing Mint 20.2?

Post by Cubytus »

Hi to all,

I've found an old Acer Aspire AX3400 featuring a GeForce 9200 inside (label says) (although Mint detects it as GeForce 8200 - First minor issue. In both cases, the correct driver should be version 340). The reason I want to use the proprietary driver is two-fold: 1- using the nouveau driver, my screen resolution, though standard (1280x1024), isn't detectected nor made available. Nothing xrandr can't correct, though, but the more serious is 2- Firefox freezing quickly on most websites from lack of hardware acceleration. So basically, a missing video driver translates as a non-working browser.

This is my first try with Mint, and my first time using a proprietary driver on Linux since at least 12 years, so I completely lost sight of how things are done. I still remember the pain and time lost to get a working ATI driver back then.

At first, I tried to install the recommended driver through the driver manager (can't remember the version), but on reboot, I got the famous black screen. Upon closer examination, it turns out that the computer was frozen and unresponsive, even when requesting a text-based login.

I tried to follow the instructions described here, purging the faulty driver, but they ended up with an unusable 640x480 resolution and still no hardware acceleration.

And since resolution is so low and browser is broken, I can't easily post logs from this computer.

Any help appreciated
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
SMG
Level 25
Level 25

Re: nvidia 340 drivers freezing Mint 20.2?

Post by SMG »