[SOLVED] HDMI to t.v. shows only background and LM logo, no other graphics

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
TimPat
Level 1
Level 1

[SOLVED] HDMI to t.v. shows only background and LM logo, no other graphics

Post by TimPat »

[SOLVED] Installed LM 20.2 a few days ago. I'm brand new to Linux. Everything works except HDMI to tv: it shows only the background + LM logo, without the other graphics that are on the laptop screen, and does not change regardless of changes on the laptop screen.
I'm running an old (2012) Asus, specs as follows:
Processor ASUS K54C
Processor: Pentium 2200 MHz
Processor Model: B960
Number of Cores: 2
L2 cache: 512 KB
L3 Cache: 2 MB
Memory: 2048 MB DDR3 1333 MHz
Any ideas on how to get everything on the laptop screen to show up on the t.v. screen?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
SMG
Level 25
Level 25

Re: HDMI to t.v. shows only background and LM logo, no other graphics

Post by SMG »

TimPat wrote: Sat Sep 18, 2021 8:16 pmAny ideas on how to get everything on the laptop screen to show up on the t.v. screen?
Welcome to the forum, TimPat.

Please give us information about your install by entering this command in a terminal: inxi -Fxxxrz
Click </> from the mini toolbar above the textbox where you type your reply and then place your cursor between the code markers and paste the results of the command between the code markers [code]Results[/code]. This will let us know how Mint sees your hardware.
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
TimPat
Level 1
Level 1

Post by TimPat »

I'm in the browser, and I think you're expecting me to be in the terminal rendering of the forum?? I'm not sure, but below is what the terminal says when I enter the command inxi -Fxxxrz
TimPat
Level 1
Level 1

Post by TimPat »