dri only loads when it feels like it

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
User avatar
rich_roast
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 4:37 pm

dri only loads when it feels like it

Post by rich_roast »

I don't really even know where to begin looking, any help appreciated:

About as often as not when I boot my laptop x starts without hardware acceleration, and inxi -G reports that the software rasterizer is being used. This is rather frustrating as it takes at least one reboot to fix, and sometimes more.

An inspection of an old xorg.log where this has happened reveals the following:

Code: Select all

(WW) RADEON(0): [agp] AGP not available
(EE) RADEON(0): [agp] AGP failed to initialize. Disabling the DRI.
(II) RADEON(0): [agp] You may want to make sure the agpgart kernel module
is loaded before the radeon kernel module.
(II) RADEON(0): [drm] removed 1 reserved context for kernel
(II) RADEON(0): [drm] unmapping 8192 bytes of SAREA 0xf0781000 at 0xb7869000
(II) RADEON(0): [drm] Closed DRM master.
(II) RADEON(0): RADEONRestoreMemMapRegisters() : 
(II) RADEON(0):   MC_FB_LOCATION   : 0xdbffd800 0x1fff0000
(II) RADEON(0):   MC_AGP_LOCATION  : 0xffffffc0
(==) RADEON(0): Backing store disabled
(WW) RADEON(0): Direct rendering disabled
Ordinarily, inxi -G reveals:

Code: Select all

Graphics:  Card ATI RV350 [Mobility Radeon 9600 M10] X.Org 1.6.4 Res: 1024x768@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer Mesa DRI R300 (RV350 4E50) 20090101 AGP 8x x86/MMX+/3DNow!+/SSE2 TCL GLX Version 1.5 Mesa 7.6
In messages I'm getting this on success:

Code: Select all

Dec 28 07:47:14 my-laptop kernel: [   33.888431] agpgart-amd64 0000:00:00.0: AGP 3.5 bridge
Dec 28 07:47:14 my-laptop kernel: [   33.888452] agpgart-amd64 0000:00:00.0: putting AGP V3 device into 8x mode
Dec 28 07:47:14 my-laptop kernel: [   33.888560] pci 0000:01:00.0: putting AGP V3 device into 8x mode
Dec 28 07:47:14 my-laptop kernel: [   34.163336] [drm] Setting GART location based on new memory map
Dec 28 07:47:14 my-laptop kernel: [   34.163345] [drm] Loading R300 Microcode
Dec 28 07:47:14 my-laptop kernel: [   34.163408] [drm] Num pipes: 1
Dec 28 07:47:14 my-laptop kernel: [   34.163416] [drm] writeback test succeeded in 1 usecs
and this when it fails to load dri:

Code: Select all

Dec 29 04:53:16 my-laptop kernel: [    3.695332] Linux agpgart interface v0.103
Dec 29 04:53:16 my-laptop kernel: [    3.731618] agpgart-amd64 0000:00:00.0: AGP bridge [1106/3188]
Dec 29 04:53:16 my-laptop kernel: [    3.795224] usb 2-2: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
Dec 29 04:53:16 my-laptop kernel: [    3.868222] agpgart-amd64 0000:00:00.0: AGP aperture is 256M @ 0xe0000000
Dec 29 04:53:16 my-laptop kernel: [    3.868296] ohci1394 0000:00:0b.2: PCI INT C -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
Dec 29 04:53:16 my-laptop kernel: [    3.918835] [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
Dec 29 04:53:16 my-laptop kernel: [    3.926476] ohci1394: fw-host0: OHCI-1394 1.0 (PCI): IRQ=[19]  MMIO=[d0002000-d00027ff]  Max Packet=[2048]  IR/IT contexts=[4/4]
Dec 29 04:53:16 my-laptop kernel: [    3.948985] b44 0000:00:0c.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 20 (level, low) -> IRQ 20
Dec 29 04:53:16 my-laptop kernel: [    3.949130] [drm] radeon default to kernel modesetting DISABLED.
Dec 29 04:53:16 my-laptop kernel: [    3.949215] pci 0000:01:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
Dec 29 04:53:16 my-laptop kernel: [    3.949721] [drm] Initialized radeon 1.31.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0
... I think; I'll need to keep better timestamp records and/or check logs immediately after dri has failed to load.

Currently I sort of just reboot and it sorts itself, randomly. I obtained the dri configuration utility and a voodoo element makes me start it up and quit it before rebooting thinking this will somehow encourage dri to load on the subsequent boot; when this works I get positive psychological feedback but I don't think that this approach actually does work every time and besides, I still have to reboot.

Obviously I need help. My question is this: how can I better assure that agpgart is loaded on time, every time, for dri to be available (assuming that is, in fact, the problem)?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18677
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: dri only loads when it feels like it

Post by Husse »

This makes me suspect a poorly inserted graphics card, but this is a laptop...
I have experienced lots of strange things when the graphics card is not properly inserted
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
rich_roast
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: dri only loads when it feels like it

Post by rich_roast »

This has occurred to me too, in nightmares.

I'll take a closer look next time open-the-laptop-and-replace-the-thermal-gel-and-vacuum-day comes along, which is in about a month or two. Until then it's not a critical bug so I'll keep quiet :wink:

When dri does work the experience is amazing, of course. I never thought I'd get this six-year-old to render a sorta-complex blend, with compiz and cairo-dock on the go while a flash movie and several other apps are going all at once. Without dri that's just not gonna work as well :D

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”