Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
nbusy

Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by nbusy » Sat Jun 04, 2011 7:55 am

Hi All,
I've moved to a new desktop, which is a Sandy Bridge with integrated Intel HD 2000 graphics. A hard drive with Linux Mint was installed in an old computer with NVidia card/driver before. Right after upgrade, OS notified about NVidia non-existence and dropped xorg.conf file to none.
Now, I've got a very low resolution and no idea how to configure Mint 9 allowing 1920x1200 support.
If there is any instruction, please help. I would prefer keeping Isadora LTS version for now though.
Regards,
Nick

nbusy

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by nbusy » Sun Jun 05, 2011 3:35 am

Anyone, please...

FantaXP7
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 9:19 pm

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by FantaXP7 » Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:13 pm

Hello,

Did you end up fixing this? I have linux mint 10, a core i3 2100t which also is Sandy Bridge and has the Intel HD graphics 2000.

I noticed that it does not recognize my monitor and that the resolution is screwed up.

saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by saxoli » Thu Jan 12, 2012 5:49 pm

Hello everyone!!

I got the same problem getting the Intel HD 2000 to work on my Dell Vostro 360 BTS.

Found a solution for the Intel Sandy Bridge Integrated Graphics on Isadora:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1747206&page=2
https://launchpad.net/~glasen/+archive/ ... lter=lucid

BUT

I still got the problem that I only get 1280x1024 and not the orig. resolution of 1920x1080.
Same thing here: http://www.grputland.com/2011/12/ubuntu ... ridge.html

At the end of his post someone tell the problem is not the driver of Intel HD 2000, it's the Monitor that can't be detected the right way.

Is it possible to "teach" the system to get the right Monitor settings ?
Like in this posts: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1843675

The solution on post #8 didn't work for my system ... any other tools, ideas, solutions for my problem ??

Thank you very much !!

Greetings,

Oliver

ej64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:43 am
Location: somewhere in Germany

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by ej64 » Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:47 pm

Sorry to say that, but I think it's not a good idea to run LM9 on a Sandy Bridge system. Intel has done an incredible job to support Linux (the kernel) and integrated graphics (xserver-org-video-intel) over the last year. It's still getting better and better with every release. But don't expect such an old distribution to work nicely on a new architecture.

I'ld recommend LM12 or LMDE. That will do much better.
Thinkpad X220 with Samsung SSD running Xubuntu 13.04
I'm getting old gladly -- I don't like to die young ...

saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by saxoli » Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:01 pm

Thank you for your advice !!

Tried already LM11 and Ubuntu 11.10 with the same machine because of newer kernel versions.

Sandy Bridge detected (boot option "i915.modeset=0") without any problems.

BUT

The same problem with LM11 / Ubuntu 11.10 to get the right monitor resolution 1920x1080.

So I'm stuck at the same point like LM9 + new Kernel + patched intel-graphics-driver, Mesa, libdrm .....

How can I make the monitor to get detected the right way to get the right resolution of 1920x1080 ???

Thank you for any help!!!

Greetings,

Oliver

ej64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:43 am
Location: somewhere in Germany

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by ej64 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 3:13 pm

do you use a digital connection? DVI?

what tells

Code: Select all

inxi -G && xrandr
Thinkpad X220 with Samsung SSD running Xubuntu 13.04
I'm getting old gladly -- I don't like to die young ...

saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by saxoli » Fri Jan 13, 2012 6:22 pm

Thank you for your fast answer!

I'm talking about an AIO machine from Dell
http://www.dell.com/uk/business/p/vostro-360/pd

I got the version with Intel® CoreTM i5 (2400), no touchscreen.

I'm sorry, I can't do the "inxi -G && xrandr" this weekend, the machine is at my work.
Will try it on monday.

Thanks again,

Oliver

PS: Just found the customer rating on the dell site, don't look good for me :?
Seems someone from Melbourne tried almost every distro to get it work.

saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by saxoli » Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:36 pm

Hey !!

I hope you still with me ??

Here's the "inxi -G && xrandr" - output.

term05@term05-desktop ~ $ inxi -G && xrandr
Graphics: Card Intel Sandy Bridge Integrated Graphics Controller X.Org 1.7.6 Res: 1280x1024@76.0hz
GLX Renderer Software Rasterizer GLX Version 2.1 Mesa 7.11-devel
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
default connected 1280x1024+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1280x1024 76.0*
1024x768 76.0
800x600 73.0
640x480 73.0

Thanks again,

Oliver

PS: By the way ... Ich bin auch aus Deutschland :wink:
But I think it's better for community to keep on talking in English !!?

saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by saxoli » Wed Jan 18, 2012 4:01 pm

@ej64:
What's up ?
No way to help me ?

Did I say something wrong ??

Anybody else out there who can help me, please ??!!

Greetings,


Oliver

brunnhilde
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:40 pm

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by brunnhilde » Sat Feb 04, 2012 10:59 pm

@saxoli

Were you able to figure this out? I have both the same AIO and the same resolution problem. i tried a few suggestions for other distros/desktop models but nothing has worked for me yet.

Hope someone here can give us a hint. Thank you in advance.

saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by saxoli » Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:37 pm

@brunnhilde

No I didn't found any solutions or any help anywhere :?

I'm very disappointed, too.

This are the only news I have: https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=42278

Maybe it's the wrong description of the monitor in comment 17:
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=42278#c17

>About this Issue i found another interesting thing:
>Dell named their Monitor 23" AIO!
>
>
>root@daphixterminal1:~# hwinfo --monitor
>25: None 00.0: 10002 LCD Monitor
>[Created at monitor.95]
>Unique ID: rdCR.KZw2Np07sk4
>Hardware Class: monitor
>Model: "23" AIO"
>Vendor: CHR
>Device: eisa 0x0608 "23" AIO"
>Resolution: 1920x1080@60Hz
>Size: 509x286 mm
>
>This results in a wrong xorg.conf:
>
>Section "Monitor"
> ModelName "23" AIO"
>
>
>You will get an error when you try to start....

So is there someone to tell us ...
- whats the right entrys for xorg.conf and
- everything else writing in the xorg.conf
- and where to save the file so at bootup the right monitor settings are getting detected ?

Thanks for any help !!

Greetings Oliver

brunnhilde
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:40 pm

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by brunnhilde » Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:42 pm

@saxoli

I came across this post: http://www.grputland.com/2011/12/ubuntu ... ridge.html

It seems we might have nothing more to do than wait. I hope I'm wrong, though. I posted here: http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=191&t=93906 some other things I've tried.

saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by saxoli » Wed Feb 15, 2012 2:47 pm

@brunnhilde and everyone !!!

I found out another thing when I take a closer look at the Xorg.O.log.

Xorg detect the sandybridge the right way:
10.688] ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 11.0
[ 10.688] (II) VESA(0): initializing int10
[ 10.688] (II) VESA(0): Primary V_BIOS segment is: 0xc000
[ 10.688] (II) VESA(0): VESA BIOS detected
[ 10.688] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE Version 3.0
[ 10.688] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE Total Mem: 65472 kB
[ 10.688] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM: Intel(R)Sandybridge Desktop Graphics Chipset Accelerated VGA BIOS
[ 10.688] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM Software Rev: 1.0
[ 10.688] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM Vendor: Intel Corporation
[ 10.688] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM Product: Intel(R)Sandybridge Desktop Graphics Controller
[ 10.688] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE OEM Product Rev: Hardware Version 0.0
[ 10.692] (II) VESA(0): Creating default Display subsection in Screen section

The Default Screen section get created the right way:
"Default Screen Section" for depth/fbbpp 24/32
[ 10.692] (==) VESA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
[ 10.692] (==) VESA(0): RGB weight 888
[ 10.692] (==) VESA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
[ 10.692] (==) VESA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
[ 10.692] (II) Loading sub module "ddc"
[ 10.692] (II) LoadModule: "ddc"
[ 10.692] (II) Module "ddc" already built-in
[ 10.734] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE DDC supported
[ 10.734] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE DDC Level 2
[ 10.734] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE DDC transfer in appr. 1 sec.
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): VESA VBE DDC read successfully
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Manufacturer: CHR Model: 608 Serial#: 880
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Year: 2011 Week: 21
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): EDID Version: 1.4
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Digital Display Input
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): 8 bits per channel
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Digital interface is DisplayPort
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Max Image Size [cm]: horiz.: 52 vert.: 32
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Gamma: 2.20
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): DPMS capabilities: StandBy Suspend Off
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Supported color encodings: RGB 4:4:4 YCrCb 4:4:4
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): First detailed timing is preferred mode
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Preferred mode is native pixel format and refresh rate
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): redX: 0.674 redY: 0.316 greenX: 0.188 greenY: 0.703
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): blueX: 0.146 blueY: 0.062 whiteX: 0.312 whiteY: 0.326
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Manufacturer's mask: 0
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Supported detailed timing:
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): clock: 134.6 MHz Image Size: 509 x 286 mm
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): h_active: 1920 h_sync: 1936 h_sync_end 1968 h_blank_end 2020 h_border: 0
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): v_active: 1080 v_sync: 1085 v_sync_end 1095 v_blanking: 1111 v_border: 0
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Established timings III: (not decoded)
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Ranges: V min: 56 V max: 76 Hz, H min: 30 H max: 83 kHz, PixClock max 175 MHz
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Monitor name: 23" AIO
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): EDID (in hex):
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): 00ffffffffffff000d12080670030000
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): 15150104a5342078ea8042ac5130b425
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): 10505300000001010101010101010101
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): 0101010101019434806470381f401020
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): 5a00fd1e1100001c000000f7000a0000
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): 00000000000000000000000000fd0038
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): 4c1e5311000a202020202020000000fc
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): 003233222041494f0a202020202000d8
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): EDID vendor "CHR", prod id 1544
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Using EDID range info for horizontal sync
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Using EDID range info for vertical refresh
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Printing DDC gathered Modelines:
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Modeline "1920x1080"x0.0 134.60 1920 1936 1968 2020 1080 1085 1095 1111 -hsync +vsync (66.6 kHz)
[ 10.742] (II) VESA(0): Searching for matching VESA mode(s):
[ 10.742] Mode: 160 (0x0)

There are the modeline, sync and refresh rates of the monitor, so I think it's only a small step to get full resolution of 1920x1080.

So I played around a little bit based on this post: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1843675

First I tried in terminal, xrandr -q and get this:
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
default connected 1280x1024+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1280x1024 76.0*
1024x768 76.0
800x600 73.0
640x480 73.0

Then I tried to add new modeline, based on the output of my Xorg.O.log:
xrandr --newmode "1920x1080"x0.0 134.60 1920 1936 1968 2020 1080 1085 1095 1111 -hsync +vsync

Another xrandr -q, I get this:
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
default connected 1280x1024+0+0 0mm x 0mm
1280x1024 76.0*
1024x768 76.0
800x600 73.0
640x480 73.0
1920x1080x0.0 (0x144) 134.6MHz
h: width 1920 start 1936 end 1968 total 2020 skew 0 clock 66.6KHz
v: height 1080 start 1085 end 1095 total 1111 clock 60.0Hz

:D I get a new screen-size-option !!! :D

The I tried to add the modeline for the "default" screen:
xrandr --addmode default 1920x1080x0.0

I get output:
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default

then I tried to "activate" the modeline:
xrandr --output default --mode 1920x1080x0.0

I get:
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
xrandr: screen cannot be larger than 1280x1024 (desired size 1920x1080)


Nothing changed at all.... I very disappointed.
I always get this "Failed to get size of gamma for output default" - What means this ??

And after reboot the new modeline (1920x1080) is gone and I have to do the steps again.
And I haven't got the file/directories /etc/gdm/Init/Default (described in the ubuntuforums-Post) to put the options of new modeline somewhere.

But I think we getting closer and closer to teach the system the right monitor options ... please a little help !!!

Greetings,

Oliver

saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by saxoli » Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:28 pm

Some news ?

I've got only bad news ... :?
http://www.grputland.com/2012/03/linux- ... -dell.html

By the way ... After all I found out that I'm in VESA-Mode all the time.

I can't make my Dell loading the Driver for Intel Integrated Graphics Chipsets, so I'm stuck in VESA.

Someone can help ??

Greetings,


Oliver

grputland
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 7:33 am

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by grputland » Wed May 16, 2012 7:52 am

Gustavo Spadari has a solution using the boot parameter "drm_kms_helper.poll=0", which apparently works for Ubuntu 12.04, and which therefore should work for Mint 13: http://www.grputland.com/2012/05/linux- ... 0-use.html.

saxoli
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:56 pm

Re: Intel HD 2000 on Mint 9 Isadora help needed

Post by saxoli » Tue May 22, 2012 2:59 pm

YES YES YES - THAT'S IT

THANKS !

Greetings,

Oliver

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”