How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Screen resolution, 3D Acceleration, nVidia, ATI
Forum rules
Before you post please read this
Post Reply
Fizou
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:18 pm

How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Post by Fizou »

Hi

My system is: Linux Mint Debian, I have an ATI card with latest propriatory drivers installed.
The screen resolution defaults at 1366x806 at 57.3Hz. The screen looks good, type display OK.
The problem is that the screen is clipped, I am missing about 20-22 pixels at the bottom of the screen, just the size of the bottom panel. I managed to move the bottom panel to the top of the screen. But now any notifications are cut off, for example the notification of a call from Skype is cut off and there is no way to accept a call.
I tried to adjust the screen in ATI Catalyst, but it does not do anything.
Two things, do you know of a smal utility that would allow me to reset, test the screen at 1366X786. Or a way to reconfigure Xorg.conf. As Xorg.conf does not exists I tried to set one up: sudo Xorg -configure (or somthing similar) I would not allow me to do it.

Any idea?

Thanks

Didier AKA Fizou

User avatar
Roken
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 741
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Warrington, UK

Re: How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Post by Roken »

If you've installed the propriety fglrx driver then the installation should have created your xorg.conf file in /etc/X11/

If it's not there then something appears to have gone awry with the installation. Note that it's xorg.conf, not Xorg.conf.
Kernel Linux Tex 4.8.13-1-ARCH (64 bit) xfce , burg
Arch
GTX680 4Gb
OSS4
AMD Phenom II X4 (965BE) @ 3.6 Ghz
8Gb RAM

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6719
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Post by AlbertP »

You don't need a xorg.conf file for the fglrx driver anymore with a recent driver version.

Have you already tried setting a proper resolution in the screens/monitors configuration? You'll find it in the system settings, in the activities window or in system utilities in the menu.

Edit. If you don't manage, please post the output of:

Code: Select all

xrandr
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

ej64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:43 am
Location: somewhere in Germany

Re: How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Post by ej64 »

Try if this helps:
1. When booting press <shift> AND <Esc> together until the grub menu shows up
1. press <e> to edit the kernel parameters
2. Navigate with the cursor keys to the line with splash
3. insert vga=844 into this line
4. press <F10> to boot with this additional parameter

This is a NON permanent change.

If it helps make it permanent:
1. Open a terminal
2. type "gksu gedit /etc/defaults/grub" -> asks your password
3. find the line with GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT and add the parameter vga=844 within the quotation marks
4. save and exit
5. back in terminal type "sudo update-grub"
Thinkpad X220 with Samsung SSD running Xubuntu 13.04
I'm getting old gladly -- I don't like to die young ...

Fizou
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:18 pm

Re: How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Post by Fizou »

Hi

Just for info, what vga=844 does to the screen resolution?

i tried two video cards, an ATI Hd 4000 series and a new Nvidia g force 550TI. Both cards, without the propriatery drivers installed, boot the system with a screen res at 1366x806 53 .7 rate. I ran xrandr and got the same start up res from both cards: 1366x806.
The screen looks good, the icones are not deformed and the type looks sharp, but in both cases I'm still missing the bottom panel, about 24 pixels.. After installing the propriatery drivers. The ATI card default again to 1366x806 53.7 rate, still missing the 24 pixels. The Nvidia 550Ti default to 1376x768 (about), with this card I have now part of the bottom panel, but the panel on the left of the screen is practically cut in half. I tried all sort of different settings with various refresh rates with no sucess ar all. I changed the xorg.conf and added an additional mode. 1366x786, but nothing happend, I could not find it in the display settings, or in the Nvidia settings either.

Other than that everything else is working fine, Skype has sound and video, I can mount Pogoplug at startup, Youtube and the web is working ok, just this damn resolution thing. It is driving me banana...

Didier. AKA fizou in Toronto,

PS any of you guy in Toronto?

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6719
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Post by AlbertP »

I think your monitor has a wrong EDID configuration - which often goes unnoticed because of Windows bugs. Which actually means that it only works in Windows, because Windows has bugs, which other OS'es of course don't have. This is a very common problem in the Linux world.

What monitor do you use?
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

ej64
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:43 am
Location: somewhere in Germany

Re: How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Post by ej64 »

Fizou wrote:Just for info, what vga=844 does to the screen resolution?
It tells the kernel to use a framebuffer size of 1366x768. Then X will recognize this resolution, too. No need for an xorg.conf. Did you already try vga=844? It's a non-permanent change, just try it! There's nothing to worry about if it doesn't help.
I changed the xorg.conf and added an additional mode. 1366x786, but nothing happend, I could not find it in the display settings, or in the Nvidia settings either.
Are you REALLY shure the resolution of your panel is 1366x786 ?? Never heard of this. Usual panel resolution is 1366x768.
Thinkpad X220 with Samsung SSD running Xubuntu 13.04
I'm getting old gladly -- I don't like to die young ...

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6719
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Post by AlbertP »

I think this person just confused 768 and 786, as 786 resolutions don't exist as far as I know.

By the way the vga= codes are graphics card specific. Every card manufacturer uses its own codes (except for 640x480, 800x600, 1024x768 and 1280x1024) and it also happens that the 1366x768 mode hasn't been programmed into the graphics card at all, which means that it has to be detected through the monitor's EDID which obviously does not list the resolution properly.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

Fizou
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:18 pm

Re: How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Post by Fizou »

Hi

A few things first to answer some of your questions, the default resolution was 1366x806 with the original ATI card, As the screen was too big and I was missing about 24 pixels at the bottom, I tried to make a custom res 1366x786, just to see what would happen. Well nothing happened.... As you can imaging.
I got a new card, an Nvidia 550TI and after installing the propriatery driver, I managed to finally set the resolutions to 1440x900 at 60Hz and 1680 x1050 at 60Hz also. Both res gave me a 16x10 proportion that fit my 42" screen pefectly. I have two Mint sytems installed on the machine on two separate drives, so I can experiment and figure out the one that work the best, as I am about 4 to 5 feet from the screen which is attached on the wall.

I still have some issues to resolve as the res that I set using the Nvidia driver does not stick on reboot, both set-ups default to a smaller res and frequency, and I have to manually reset them with the Nvidia driver.
I did a bit of reading tonight and it seems that the X server does not read the boot info from xorg.conf but from another xml file generated by the screen manager from the control panel. From what I read I will have to also set the default res on the xml file to make my prefered res to stick.... More to come tomorrow

Thanks for all your replies

Fizou, Toronto

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6719
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Post by AlbertP »

You can use nVidia X Server Settings program to make settings permanent, using the 'Save to xorg.conf' button.

Settings from the monitors program indeed don't stick.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

kalimerox
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:00 am

Re: How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Post by kalimerox »

@ ej64:


I have a kind of similar problem with my resolution. I have twoo exactly the same screens that i connect for dual screen to my ati graphics card.
the monitor on the vga output shows the right output resolution of 2048x1152 , but the monitor connected to the dvi output always gets a wrong resolution for example 1920x1080 .. when i change the monitor the problem switches from one to the other so i think the dvi output just always gives a wrong signal.
in randr i theres no option for 2048x1152 , and when i install the propietary ati driver it doesnt make it better, same problem here. This happens to me on linux mint debian 64bit but also on avlinux and ubuntu lucid. and i cant figure out what to do, the problem persists...

shall i try your solution changing the setting in the grub menu? to which number do i have to change the vga settings when i want a resolution of2048x1152 on both outputs?

my xrandr is

Code: Select all

kalimerox@emitter19:~$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 2048 x 1152, maximum 8192 x 8192
VGA-0 connected 2048x1152+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 510mm x 287mm
   2048x1152      59.9*+
   1680x1050      60.0  
   1280x1024      60.0  
   1440x900       59.9  
   1280x960       60.0  
   1280x800       59.8  
   1024x768       60.0  
   800x600        60.3     56.2  
   640x480        60.0  
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-0 connected 1680x1050+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 509mm x 286mm
   1920x1080      60.0 +
   1600x1200      60.0  
   1680x1050      60.0* 
   1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
   1440x900       75.0     59.9  
   1280x960       60.0  
   1280x800       59.8  
   1152x864       75.0  
   1024x768       75.1     70.1     60.0  
   832x624        74.6  
   800x600        72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2  
   640x480        72.8     75.0     66.7     60.0  
   720x400        70.1  
kalimerox@emitter19:~$ 

AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6719
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Post by AlbertP »

Do you use analog or digital DVI? In case it's digital, you need a dual link connection for 2048x1152. A single link cable can't do that.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.

kalimerox
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:00 am

Re: How to adjust the screen size with an ATI card

Post by kalimerox »

@AlbertP

oh thanks for that advice, yes, i use a vga cable adapted to the dvi output. I ll buy a dual dvi cable and give it a try tomorrow!

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Cards & Monitors”