Why does Linux Mint work when others don't?

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
nomad1980

Why does Linux Mint work when others don't?

Post by nomad1980 »

I am a teacher with a computer lab, and I have pretty much switched the classroom over to Linux for multiple reasons, but especially because Windows is such a memory hog on older computers. I also get random older laptops donated, and Linux does such a great job breathing new life into them. Whether Windows, Mac, or a Chromebook I can almost always switch them over to Linux so students are just using the same system.

Sometimes many of the regular distributions just don't take on some computers. But it seems like Linux Mint always does. Occasionally I even install Linux Mint first, then the other distribution will successfully install.

Why is this? Is there something included in Linux Mint that makes it more versatile? Even "fixing" some computers so other distributions can then be placed on them.

Just curious. Thanks to everyone for such a great operating system!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
gm10

Re: Why does Linux Mint work when others don't?

Post by gm10 »

Let's say I'd be surprised if Mint installs where the corresponding Ubuntu base doesn't. That aside you probably just lucky. Enjoy your Mint. :)
jglen490

Post by jglen490 »