AIRVPN

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please
Post Reply
Auro
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 6:54 am

AIRVPN

Post by Auro »

Hi,

Not certain is if this the right platform for this question, but since I'm using Linux I thought I'd give it a try at least.

The problem is I am trying to create an AirVPN account, but no matter what I try I cannot get passed their security check. You have to enter something such as for example: 3+5. But every try results in the website telling me I failed the test. The most annoying part is that to reach the web-team you must also pass the same security check, which of course does not work.

I really want to use their vpn service, and not another one.

Question: Anyone out here using Airvpn and willing to let them know that there are people that cannot pass their security for reason.
ParaDice
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2016 6:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: AIRVPN

Post by ParaDice »

Hi there,

not that I'm familiar with AirVPN or their website, but is there any chance that you have JavaScript turned off in your browser? Website captchas and security measures like the one you're describing tend to malfunction if you have JS off. If you're not sure, you may check it here:
https://javatester.org/javascript.html
To get help, always post your system configuration. Open a terminal (Ctrl + Alt + T), type the following command and copy its output: inxi -Fxxxrz. To preserve formatting, please make sure to post it inside [ code] [/ code] block.
portlock
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 5:38 am

Re: AIRVPN

Post by portlock »

I don't know if this will help your specific issue but in general I find my browser fails to either render a page properly or causes errors.

For example, with Firefox it could be due to:
- settings you changed in about:config
- extensions you installed
- updates to Firefox that broke web page functionality

When a site I need won't work, unfortunately I have to try to debug my browser which might start with adjusting custom settings in about:config that I changed, or disabling certain externsions, and if still not fixed then try running Firefox with a fresh default profile. If that fixes it then usually there's a setting or extension it doesn't like and I have to painstakingly find it.

In the case of Firefox, if I suspect the problem is due to an about:config setting here's a method to isolate which one or group of configurations is the culprit, if you have time (since there are a thousand+ possible settings)..
  • 1. Make a backup copy of your browser data:

    Code: Select all

    cp -rp ~/.mozilla/firefox/ ~/my_browser_data/
    
    2. Delete your profile located in ~/.mozilla/firefox/ which is named randomjumbleofletters.default

    3. Launch firefox, create a new profile, then close firefox

    4. Make a backup copy of your default browser data:

    Code: Select all

    cp -rp ~/.mozilla/firefox/ ~/default_browser_data/
    5. Open your prefs.js from ~/my_browser_data/[profilename.default] in a text editor

    6. Select and copy all configurations starting with the letters A-J

    7. Open your prefs.js from ~/default_browser_data/ in another text editor

    8. Select all configurations starting with A-J, and paste, then save

    9. Run the browser and see if the problem is fixed. If so, then you know the problem may lie within a configuration beginning with A-J, in which case you could repeat steps 5-9 except with, say A-E, and then F-J, and narrow it down until you get to a single letter, and smaller groups of configurations, until finally you narrow it down to the one or few causing trouble. Or if A-J was not the problem then try K-Z and narrow it down, etc.

    10. Once you find the offending configuration(s), take note, restore your original profile, and change just those configuration(s).
You may be able to do something similar with other browsers. I hope this helps. It's painstaking but works if the Firefox configuration is causing the issue.
Post Reply

Return to “Non-technical Questions”