[Solved] Random website when middle-click

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please
Post Reply
User avatar
cra1g321
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:19 pm
Location: Northern Ireland

[Solved] Random website when middle-click

Post by cra1g321 » Sat Sep 04, 2010 8:56 pm

I have noticed when using Firefox that when i middle-click my mouse without the cursor being over a link, a random website loads. This website doesnt relate to anything i have searched for or relate to anything in the tabs i have currently open. I have noticed that this only happens in Linux Mint. (Doesnt in ubuntu)

I was wanting to know why this happens ??? has someone in the mint community set firefox up this way ??? :?

Heres a screenshot of a random website that was loaded - Image
Last edited by cra1g321 on Sun Sep 26, 2010 2:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
PC - Gigabyte 970A-DS3 AMD 970 , AMD Bulldozer FX-4 4170, Kingston HyperX Blu 4GB 1600MHz C9, Zotac Geforce 8800GT AMP Edition, OS's = Linux / WIN7

User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5065
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Mt. Angel, Oregon

Re: Random website when middle-click

Post by tdockery97 » Sat Sep 04, 2010 9:19 pm

Hmmm. My middle mouse button doesn't do that. Maybe a mouse problem?
Mint 19.2 MATE

User avatar
cra1g321
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:19 pm
Location: Northern Ireland

Re: Random website when middle-click

Post by cra1g321 » Sat Sep 04, 2010 9:32 pm

I don't think it's a mouse problem becuase It also happens on laptop. Only happens at random times. I know what settings in firefox are causing it. I just want to know why it has been set like this in the 1st place and by who. I'm posting from my iPod touch so can't show you the setting that is related to it. I'm away to bed
PC - Gigabyte 970A-DS3 AMD 970 , AMD Bulldozer FX-4 4170, Kingston HyperX Blu 4GB 1600MHz C9, Zotac Geforce 8800GT AMP Edition, OS's = Linux / WIN7

User avatar
cra1g321
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:19 pm
Location: Northern Ireland

Re: Random website when middle-click

Post by cra1g321 » Sun Sep 05, 2010 7:31 am

Any ideas guys? It has never happened in u ubuntu only mint. Is this just a trick to show ppl some ads/websites ? Can't be my history or anything cos they are automatically cleared. Someone must know
PC - Gigabyte 970A-DS3 AMD 970 , AMD Bulldozer FX-4 4170, Kingston HyperX Blu 4GB 1600MHz C9, Zotac Geforce 8800GT AMP Edition, OS's = Linux / WIN7

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9075
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Random website when middle-click

Post by richyrich » Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:14 am

Seems that a middle-click is " paste ". Even in Mint 9 Xfce.

User avatar
cra1g321
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:19 pm
Location: Northern Ireland

Re: Random website when middle-click

Post by cra1g321 » Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:16 am

i think that maybe could be the reason thats what would cause this. I think ive stopped the random sites from loading anyway
For anyone that wants to know -
enter 'about:config' into the address bar, click 'i'be careful,i promise' button then enter 'mouse' into the filter bar, then double-click middlemouse.contentLoadURL
so that it goes bold.
PC - Gigabyte 970A-DS3 AMD 970 , AMD Bulldozer FX-4 4170, Kingston HyperX Blu 4GB 1600MHz C9, Zotac Geforce 8800GT AMP Edition, OS's = Linux / WIN7

Joylove
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:33 pm

Re: Random website when middle-click

Post by Joylove » Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:56 pm

On Firefox

EDIT -> PREFERENCES -> ADVANCED -> GENERAL (tab)

check "Use Autoscrolling"

then OK or Apply

Mozenrath
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 209
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 12:41 am

Re: Random website when middle-click

Post by Mozenrath » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:25 am

Joylove wrote:On Firefox

EDIT -> PREFERENCES -> ADVANCED -> GENERAL (tab)

check "Use Autoscrolling"

then OK or Apply
I don't know why this isn't enabled by default. It's like that in the Windows version but not in the Linux version.

randomizer
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 865
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 7:15 am

Re: Random website when middle-click

Post by randomizer » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:32 am

Go to about:config and set middlemouse.contentLoadURL to false. End of problem. Basically Firefox attempts to use whatever is in your primary selection as a URL, so that means the last thing that you highlighted. This setting is false on every vanilla Firefox build except the Linux one for some dumb reason. Ubuntu devs were wise enough to disable it as well.

leo.smith
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 12:23 pm

Re: [Solved] Random website when middle-click

Post by leo.smith » Tue Nov 17, 2015 6:30 am

My problem is that on firefox 42, even after changing the config file the behaviour persists

I assume there is some override going on.

Post Reply

Return to “Non-technical Questions”