Netbook questions

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Tommyss4l

Netbook questions

Post by Tommyss4l »

I have been running linux for almost two years now, and I've always run desktop versions. I tried Ubuntu's netbook remix but I didn't like not having a desktop. Now that I am running my computer at school on battery power, I am trying to extend my battery life. Is there a version of linux out there, mint or otherwise, that will help with my problem?
I've got a Zareason Terra A20 running an atom processor, 2 GB of RAM, and a 500 GB HD with linux mint 9 desktop.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
1002richards

Re: Netbook questions

Post by 1002richards »

Hi,
I know you're not using Ubuntu netbook edition, but in section 2 of this link there's a useful app for battery life called PowerTop. Hope it's astarting point at least:

http://www.webupd8.org/2009/11/ubuntu-n ... guide.html

Richard
vincent

Post by vincent »

The easiest way to improve battery life is not to change to another Linux distro, but to work with your hardware; simply dim your laptop's backlight and disable hardware components that you don't use in your BIOS (especially bluetooth). Also avoid using any external devices while on battery power, e.g. don't try to watch DVDs, because your CD/DVD drive will soak up a lot of power when in use. Set your computer to sleep whenever you're not using it. If your CPU supports dynamic frequency scaling, e.g. Intel's Speedstep, you can use that to underclock your CPU when you don't need full processing power, and save battery power (and produce less heat while you're at it).
bigBuckets

Post by bigBuckets »