slackness...(solved - divin in now...)

Questions about the project and the distribution - obviously no support questions here please
sabresofparadise
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 5:26 pm

slackness...(solved - divin in now...)

Postby sabresofparadise » Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:58 am

gulp, I am fascinated by slackware and yet I have next to no knowledge of running linux/unix at that or any level, insane i know but it would be a brilliant teacher If I am willing to learn - don't wanna mess up my current MInt OS so would it be wiser to dig up an oldish machinerie and attempt to download slackware and then pray...they say once you get into slackware you never go back - I will tie a thread around me in case i get lost in its labyrinths...wish me well...yikes...
Last edited by sabresofparadise on Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19245
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: slackness...

Postby xenopeek » Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:08 am

You may want to start with installing it in Virtual Box? That is how I try any new Linux distro. If I think it is for me, only then will I go ahead and install to my actual harddisk in multi-boot with other distros.
Image

User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7561
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: slackness...

Postby DrHu » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:41 pm

You could also run it live from their CD, or you could (if you have enough hard drive space, reduce the size of a partition to install Slackware into..
    Or just add another drive (bootable, from your GRUB menu)

As well, read the Slackware information on install etc..
http://www.slackware.com/install/
--you might not need all the CDs (6 in total) or the DVD, but if you can do so, it is probably best to get the set (OS + applications etc..)

I haven't used Slackware for a long time, but it looks like it installs via pre-configured sets, eg desktop, developer etc, just as the older Suse Linux did
    One can always do a custom install, but you have to watch what you don't install (take out), and you likely have to look over their sets (pre-configurations) to see what is being included, in order not to get a mangled installation

rhodry
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:32 am

Re: slackness...

Postby rhodry » Wed Oct 12, 2011 7:59 pm

Haven't been a "slacker" for some time, but if you are going to dual boot, do not let install put boot manager in mbr. Slackware ( I think) still uses Lilo ( not Grub) and it will not detect Linuxmint. You may think your system is broken. :cry:

Put Slackware Lilo in root partition of install, return to Linuxmint and run 'sudo update-grub'. Slackware will be detected.

Safest is to use Virtualbox 1st.

cheers,
rhodry.
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass...
it's about learning to dance in the rain.

sabresofparadise
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 5:26 pm

Re: slackness...

Postby sabresofparadise » Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:11 am

...thanks for the feedback, trawling the 'net for educational purposes re the above - gulp- quite daunting as I am not a programmer or have any expertise in computing...most of the techno gabble is way beyond me , gosh, what have I let myself in for... :shock:

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19245
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: slackness...

Postby xenopeek » Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:56 am

sabresofparadise wrote:...thanks for the feedback, trawling the 'net for educational purposes re the above - gulp- quite daunting as I am not a programmer or have any expertise in computing...most of the techno gabble is way beyond me , gosh, what have I let myself in for... :shock:

Techno gabble? Well, if we can clarify anything specific, just ask :wink:
Image

sabresofparadise
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 5:26 pm

Re: slackness...

Postby sabresofparadise » Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:33 am

will do Vincent, thanks for your time I have slax on a live cd at mo, just messing around with it till i ready to dive in deep... :!: ...o


Return to “Non-technical Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 4 guests