Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22624
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by xenopeek » Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:02 am

wallyUSA wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 10:01 pm
Any way to turn off or block the ads that are now appearing? Using Google Chrome.
There any number of ad blockers you can use. A popular and often recommended one is uBlock Origin. That's available for Google Chrome, Chromium, Opera, Firefox, Firefox for Android, SeaMonkey and even Microsoft Edge and Apple Safari. For Google Chrome you can find it in the Chrome store here https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... phjbkeiagm. Links for other browsers can be found here https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/blob/ ... stallation.

After installing uBlock Origin and reloading the page, ads (on all websites) should be gone. You can disable uBlock Origin for specific websites if you don't mind their ads and/or want to support them. You may find with uBlock Origin on the Linux Mint forums it leaves a, albeit smaller, bar at the top of the page where otherwise ads would have been displayed. You can remove that with the eye dropper tool of uBlock Origin (click on the uBlock Origin icon in your toolbar to access it): https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/wiki/ ... #the-tools.

Linux Mint is funded by donations and ads on the website.
Image

User avatar
Lucap
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 913
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by Lucap » Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:16 am

xenopeek wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:02 am
Linux Mint is funded by donations and ads on the website.
Asian date being 6000 miles away is small price to pay to keep the forum going. :mrgreen:

User avatar
wallyUSA
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 413
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:31 pm
Location: N. Georgia Mtns USA (UTC-4/5)

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by wallyUSA » Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:27 am

Post by xenopeek » Fri Feb 09, 2018 3:02 am

There any number of ad blockers you can use. A popular and often recommended one is uBlock Origin.
...
Linux Mint is funded by donations and ads on the website.

@xenopeek - Thank you :!:
Tara Cinnamon 3.8.8 Kernel 4.15.0-24 (64 bit)
Please, if your query has been resolved, edit your first post and add [SOLVED] to the subject line.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22624
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by xenopeek » Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:52 am

Schultz wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 6:59 pm
xenopeek wrote:
During testing I noticed some oddities with the search bar: if you zoom the page in/out enough the search bar will not grown or shrink in height the same amount as surrounding buttons. I have yet to find a solution for that. As to why it shows so small for you—do you perhaps have a high resolution screen with tiny pixels? Perhaps something odd happens with that.
Yes, I zoom the forum pages ("zoom text only"). Resetting it fixes the problem, but the text is too small for me like that. Is the fault on my end, or the new forum layout?
Okay, after some more testing I can't reproduce this on my end. In fact I can zoom in as much as I want on Firefox and at most the search bar looks to be 1 pixel off in height at some zoom levels. Recalled that I indeed made a change for this already before the upgraded forum went live, that improved how the search bar sizes. I need some more info to delve into this. It may help me perfect how the element is zoomed so I'd appreciate your info.
  1. How do you "zoom text only"?
  2. What web browser are you using?
  3. Can you share your display DPI? If you don't know the DPI, what is your current screen resolution and how many inches is the diagonal of your screen?
That will help me reproduce it.
Image

Penn
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:12 pm

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by Penn » Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:49 am

Not an issue due to the upgrade but an oddity that has existed since November. Go the the home page of forums.linuxmint.com either with a browser that has not been to that site before or a browser that clears (deletes) all data such as cookies between sessions and all the most recent posts in each sub-forum show as Nov. 18 or earlier.

A person coming to this forum for the first time might get the impression this forum is defunct.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22624
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by xenopeek » Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:58 pm

Penn wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:49 am
Not an issue due to the upgrade but an oddity that has existed since November. Go the the home page of forums.linuxmint.com either with a browser that has not been to that site before or a browser that clears (deletes) all data such as cookies between sessions and all the most recent posts in each sub-forum show as Nov. 18 or earlier.

A person coming to this forum for the first time might get the impression this forum is defunct.
How so? I tested it with Chromium, SeaMonkey, Epiphany and Eolie on my computer after first deleting all history and all cookies, then restarting the browser before going to forums.linuxmint.com. Also tested it in a VM with Firefox after deleting the .mozilla directory and on my phone with Firefox Focus (the browser that doesn't store anything). I can't spot anything wrong.

Can you share a screenshot of the issue? And some info please:
  1. What web browser are you using? Include the version if using something not from the repositories.
  2. What extensions are you using with it?
  3. How are you connect to Internet? Are you perhaps behind a caching proxy?
  4. Edit: and as you said this is an issue since Nov 18 or earlier, did anything change on your end around that time because it didn't on the forum side.
I suspect an issue at your end right now.
Image

User avatar
tenfoot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 881
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by tenfoot » Fri Feb 09, 2018 3:10 pm

xenopeek wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:24 pm
tenfoot, I think you're looking a the bottom of the page? That is as it is supposed to look. The search bar is only shown to the right of the post reply button at the top of the page.
Oh! you are right. I am :oops:
tenfoot
Procrastination is the art of keeping up with yesterday.

User avatar
sammiev
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat May 19, 2012 12:16 pm

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by sammiev » Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:54 pm

Think I found a bug that wasn't there a few days a go.

When I select a thread we will say half way down the page and read the post and decide to hit the back arrow, it takes you back to the top of the page instead of the location you clicked on the thread. Meaning you have to scroll down to where you first selected the thread.

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22624
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by xenopeek » Fri Feb 09, 2018 6:15 pm

sammiev wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:54 pm
When I select a thread we will say half way down the page and read the post and decide to hit the back arrow, it takes you back to the top of the page instead of the location you clicked on the thread. Meaning you have to scroll down to where you first selected the thread.
I tried the following: visit a topic, scroll about half way down the page, click on a link in a post there, then click back button from where the link took me -- it takes me back where I had scroll to in the topic.
Image

User avatar
trytip
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1829
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by trytip » Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:21 pm

Penn wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:49 am
Not an issue due to the upgrade but an oddity that has existed since November. Go the the home page of forums.linuxmint.com either with a browser that has not been to that site before or a browser that clears (deletes) all data such as cookies between sessions and all the most recent posts in each sub-forum show as Nov. 18 or earlier.

A person coming to this forum for the first time might get the impression this forum is defunct.
UNPLUG your router for about 20 seconds. it will reconnect and refresh the cache
Image

User avatar
Schultz
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1221
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:57 pm

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by Schultz » Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:12 pm

xenopeek wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:52 am
  1. How do you "zoom text only"?
  2. What web browser are you using?
  3. Can you share your display DPI? If you don't know the DPI, what is your current screen resolution and how many inches is the diagonal of your screen?
I'll answer #2 first. In order, I use Pale Moon, Basilisk, and Firefox ESR. The problem occurs in all three browsers.
"Zoom text only" is found in "View >> Zoom" in all 3 browsers. Current screen resolution is 1600 x 900. Diagonal screen measurement is listed as 19 inches; actual is 19½ inches. Where can I find the DPI info at?
__________________
After writing all this, I just tested and found out that using "Zoom text only" is the culprit. However this is the only webpage that has this problem. Others including other forums don't have this problem. (EDIT: I just tested on another forum and the problem does exist there also, but nowhere near as noticeable as here.) I like to use zoom text only because images can become blurry and ugly if zoomed too much.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1027
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by MrEen » Sat Feb 10, 2018 12:15 am

Just noticed a glitch with search (from the top banner.) Actually, I suspected something earlier, but have now confirmed this.

I searched "waterfox" (with and without quotes) and only get 2 results from the last 2 years (and only 24 hits total.)

I know there should be many more as I've only installed it in the last month or so from reading recent posts here.

I also tried advanced search but that didn't add any more.

My main browser is Firefox but the same happens for me in Waterfox and Slimjet

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22624
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by xenopeek » Sat Feb 10, 2018 4:47 am

Schultz wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:12 pm
I'll answer #2 first. In order, I use Pale Moon, Basilisk, and Firefox ESR. The problem occurs in all three browsers.
"Zoom text only" is found in "View >> Zoom" in all 3 browsers. Current screen resolution is 1600 x 900. Diagonal screen measurement is listed as 19 inches; actual is 19½ inches. Where can I find the DPI info at?
__________________
After writing all this, I just tested and found out that using "Zoom text only" is the culprit. However this is the only webpage that has this problem. Others including other forums don't have this problem. (EDIT: I just tested on another forum and the problem does exist there also, but nowhere near as noticeable as here.) I like to use zoom text only because images can become blurry and ugly if zoomed too much.
I'll try and find how/if I can install those on my test system. 1600x900 at 19½" is a regular 94 DPI. I had tested on a 96 DPI screen so it's not an issue with you using a HiDPI screen. I'll do some more testing.
Image

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22624
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by xenopeek » Sat Feb 10, 2018 4:48 am

MrEen wrote:
Sat Feb 10, 2018 12:15 am
Just noticed a glitch with search (from the top banner.) Actually, I suspected something earlier, but have now confirmed this.

I searched "waterfox" (with and without quotes) and only get 2 results from the last 2 years (and only 24 hits total.)

I know there should be many more as I've only installed it in the last month or so from reading recent posts here.
I had a report from prestonR about the same. I'll look into the search indexes.

Edit: I've tweaked the search indexes and think I've solved what was the issue. I find 300+ posts mentioning waterfox now.
Image

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1027
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by MrEen » Sat Feb 10, 2018 5:17 am

Thanks for the fast fix! :D

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22624
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by xenopeek » Sat Feb 10, 2018 7:51 am

xenopeek wrote:
Sat Feb 10, 2018 4:47 am
Schultz wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:12 pm
I'll answer #2 first. In order, I use Pale Moon, Basilisk, and Firefox ESR. The problem occurs in all three browsers.
"Zoom text only" is found in "View >> Zoom" in all 3 browsers. Current screen resolution is 1600 x 900. Diagonal screen measurement is listed as 19 inches; actual is 19½ inches. Where can I find the DPI info at?
__________________
After writing all this, I just tested and found out that using "Zoom text only" is the culprit. However this is the only webpage that has this problem. Others including other forums don't have this problem. (EDIT: I just tested on another forum and the problem does exist there also, but nowhere near as noticeable as here.) I like to use zoom text only because images can become blurry and ugly if zoomed too much.
I'll try and find how/if I can install those on my test system. 1600x900 at 19½" is a regular 94 DPI. I had tested on a 96 DPI screen so it's not an issue with you using a HiDPI screen. I'll do some more testing.
I think I've fixed it. I've rolled the changes out to this forum but they will take a while to activate as the theme is cached and there's no way to manually force phpBB to rebuild its theme cache. It should do it automatically but it's not documented anywhere when it will do that. I'll check again in a few hours if the theme changes have been activated on the server.
Image

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by Cosmo. » Sat Feb 10, 2018 7:58 am

xenopeek, is the task you're actually doing with the software the reason for the currently really annoying delays in reaction time? Today it is horrible to move through the forum, nearly every time I have to wait endless seconds, if I want to open a thread (whereas navigating through the web in another tab works as usual). 2 or 3 times I did run into the well known Sucuri page (http 502 IIRC).

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 22624
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by xenopeek » Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:03 am

Cosmo. wrote:
Sat Feb 10, 2018 7:58 am
xenopeek, is the task you're actually doing with the software the reason for the currently really annoying delays in reaction time? Today it is horrible to move through the forum, nearly every time I have to wait endless seconds, if I want to open a thread (whereas navigating through the web in another tab works as usual). 2 or 3 times I did run into the well known Sucuri page (http 502 IIRC).
No issues here now. The server was rebooted about 1½ hours ago and that would have caused a ~15 minute downtime. After that the first few pages loaded (board wide, not per user) would have be slow. I've also cleared the cache about 25 minutes ago and that would also have made the first few pages loaded (again board wide, not per user) be slow.
Image

User avatar
Lucap
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 913
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by Lucap » Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:24 am

Has phpBB ever got close to using all the server resources as i've seen lots of complaints about vbulletin chewing through ram and falling over?

User avatar
Portreve
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1193
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 12:03 am
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: Forum has been upgraded (report issues here)

Post by Portreve » Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:27 am

xenopeek wrote:
Thu Feb 08, 2018 3:50 am
Portreve wrote:
Wed Feb 07, 2018 7:41 pm
How come font size changing is supported but there's no button for it?
We haven't had buttons for since almost 2 years ago I think. You can use your web browser's controls for page zooming (Ctrl + to zoom in, Ctrl - to zoom out, Ctrl 0 [zero] to reset zoom, or hold down Ctrl and use your mouse' scrollwheel to zoom in/out).
It's present, actually (my previous comment was in error) but it's not really consistent. You have function buttons for everything else, but a drop-down menu for it. It's serviceable, but not really ideal. Moreover, I think the image you're using for color really doesn't make any sense. I had to hover over every button to see if color was even present. Let me put my mind to that issue and see if I can come up with a better image to put on the button.

EDITED: Because I stated something which was incorrect. My bad, sorry!

EDITED AGAIN: Removed uncalled-for snark.
Last edited by Portreve on Sat Feb 10, 2018 11:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Everything is in hand. With this tapestry... and with patience, there is nothing one cannot achieve.

No hamsters were harmed in the authoring of this post.

Post Reply

Return to “Chat about Linux Mint”