password in terminal

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
gary428509
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:58 pm

password in terminal

Postby gary428509 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:52 pm

When I try to type my password in the terminal nothing happens. How can I change this? Thank you for any help. Gary428509.

jp734
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:18 pm

Re: password in terminal

Postby jp734 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 5:57 pm

Giving us an example of the command you entered that required you to enter a password might help us help you a bit more.
IBM-X41 1.5GHz 1GB 32Gb - Lubuntu 12.10
---
Custom PC: Core2Quad 2.83GHz - 4GB - (3) Dell E197FP, (2) Radeon HD 5450
--- Linux Mint 15 Mate - Lubuntu 13.04 - CrunchBang Waldorf


Image

gary428509
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 3:58 pm

Re: password in terminal

Postby gary428509 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:00 pm

sudo apt-get avast install

jp734
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:18 pm

Re: password in terminal

Postby jp734 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:15 pm

It should be "sudo apt-get install avast"
IBM-X41 1.5GHz 1GB 32Gb - Lubuntu 12.10
---
Custom PC: Core2Quad 2.83GHz - 4GB - (3) Dell E197FP, (2) Radeon HD 5450
--- Linux Mint 15 Mate - Lubuntu 13.04 - CrunchBang Waldorf


Image

User avatar
Habitual
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4104
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Youngstown, Ohio

Re: password in terminal

Postby Habitual » Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:11 pm

gary428509 wrote:When I try to type my password in the terminal nothing happens. How can I change this? Thank you for any help. Gary428509.


Nothing is echoed when you type the sudo password for security reasons.
Windows assumes you're an idiot.
Linux demands proof of it.

User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1359
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: password in terminal

Postby mank_in » Wed Apr 25, 2012 2:35 am

avast not in repository, you must download DEB package from AVAST Website : http://www.avast.com/linux-home-edition.

After update a virus signature , you will see an error:
"An error occured in avast! engine: Invalid argument"

open terminal :

Code: Select all

 gksudo gedit /etc/sysctl.conf

add line kernel.shmmax = 128000000

Reboot.
Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.


Return to “Chat about Linux Mint”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests