Welcome BEA

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Post Reply
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone
Contact:

Welcome BEA

Post by npap »

Welcome Bea,

You are looking very nice, so let's get acquainted. I ,m just testing the desktop CD I downloaded a few minutes ago.
First impressions are good. Just a little slow at starting up, but I guess this was true even with Ubuntu Edgy.

Well, I'll have to come back later today. At 4.15 in the morning, I,m pooped and sleepy.
So asta la vista later in the day.
Happy birth day!
npap :lol: .
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone
Contact:

Welcome Bea

Post by npap »

OK, let's get down to business.
After a very good download from the good people of LinTelligence.de,
Checksums came out OK.
Live CD bug:
Pressing F4 I selected resolution as 1024x768, but after the splash screen the system reverted back to 1280x1024. A similar problem exists in Dapper and Edgy.
Not really a major problem since the resolution can be re-adjusted.
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone
Contact:

Wlcome to BEA

Post by npap »

Graphics menu:
Only graphics available in the menu is F-Spot photo Manager.
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone
Contact:

Comments and bugs

Post by npap »

Installation on hard disk took about 15 minutes. Readjusted screen resolution to 1024x768 and made it my default setting.
Still the Graphics menu shows only F-Spot Photo Manager

Glad to see the Terminal with the amusing and useful messages.

My Machine
Intel Celeron 586 2.658 Mhz
Graphics card Intel 845
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone
Contact:

Comments and bugs

Post by npap »

Ok. Xchat-Gnome IRC chat is now working.
User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4206
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Post by clem »

Hi,

There's only F-Spot in that menu.. the Gimp was removed.

Clem
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone
Contact:

Welcome BEA

Post by npap »

Hello Root,
BEA is looking good! So far, no major problems.
Well, with graphics I understand you had to save some room in the CD Iso.
But one can always install the graphics of his choise with Synaptic.

I just installed the Kubuntu desktop. It started with the Kubuntu splash screen.
Will see if there are any problems here.

Congratulations on a very nice looking distro,
Regards
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone
Contact:

Comments and bugs

Post by npap »

OK. It was a bad idea installing Kubuntu desktop. The splash screen is Kubuntu and there are some problems. Applets missing and some applications don't run.
Perhaps, installing just KDE with Synaptic might work better, if anybody wants to try it.
There was no similar problem with Barbara.
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone
Contact:

Welcome BEA

Post by npap »

Alright,
I removed kubuntu desktop: sudo apt-get remove kubuntu-desktop.
Installed KDE. This resulted in the addition of numerous software pacages from the KDE environment. 16 additional graphics and a lot of educational and game software among other things.

The splash screen is now KDE 3.5.

There is no problem with Bea so far.
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: Welcome BEA

Post by antiquexray »

npap wrote:Alright,
I removed kubuntu desktop: sudo apt-get remove kubuntu-desktop.
Installed KDE. This resulted in the addition of numerous software pacages from the KDE environment. 16 additional graphics and a lot of educational and game software among other things.

The splash screen is now KDE 3.5.

There is no problem with Bea so far.
Are you able to choose between Gnome and KDE?
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone
Contact:

Re: Welcome BEA

Post by npap »

antiquexray wrote:
npap wrote:Alright,
I removed kubuntu desktop: sudo apt-get remove kubuntu-desktop.
Installed KDE. This resulted in the addition of numerous software pacages from the KDE environment. 16 additional graphics and a lot of educational and game software among other things.

The splash screen is now KDE 3.5.

There is no problem with Bea so far.
Are you able to choose between Gnome and KDE?

Sorry antiquexray,
I missed this message some time ago. But I should have answered YES. Never too late though, it might be useful to some newbie who will read this.
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 604
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: Welcome BEA

Post by antiquexray »

[/quote]
Sorry antiquexray,
I missed this message some time ago. But I should have answered YES. Never too late though, it might be useful to some newbie who will read this.[/quote]

No problem. I too have been busy training in a new job and have found it difficult to keep up. Appreciate the reply
Post Reply

Return to “Chat about Linux Mint”