Change Forum Password or account deletion questions

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
programming-master
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 8:48 pm
Contact:

Change Forum Password or account deletion questions

Post by programming-master » Thu Feb 25, 2016 9:39 pm

How does one change their forum password themselves? I have access to my account, but I want to set my own password, and I have searched around the site for a while looking for a place to change it.
Last edited by karlchen on Mon Feb 29, 2016 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Pierre
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8924
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by Pierre » Thu Feb 25, 2016 9:47 pm

it seems to be on the right, under your username,
& within your User Control Panel
- then look under 'profile'.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

Georgia boy
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:06 am
Location: Arizona

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by Georgia boy » Thu Feb 25, 2016 9:56 pm

Had no issue changing but now seems like I'm getting those screens that you have to copy before being allowed to log in. I'll only log in once and will be told that I've made too many attempts and need to do so. Anyone else having that issue besides me?
Debian testing
Hp Pav a1440n
820 Intel Pent D procces 2 process cores, 2.0GB mem,250GB HD, NVIDA GeForce 7300LE, Intel ViiV.
ASUS A53SD-TS72 Intel Cor i7-2670QM 2.20GHz, 8GB DDR3, 750GB HDD, 2GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 610M, Mint LMDE2 64 bit.

User avatar
Schultz
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1604
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:57 pm

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by Schultz » Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:00 pm

Georgia boy wrote:
Anyone else having that issue besides me?
I did, but it went away soon enough. (I created a new account.)

ralplpcr
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 10:11 am

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by ralplpcr » Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:02 pm

Georgia boy wrote:Had no issue changing but now seems like I'm getting those screens that you have to copy before being allowed to log in. I'll only log in once and will be told that I've made too many attempts and need to do so. Anyone else having that issue besides me?
Yes, I've had the exact same issue. I logged in yesterday & changed my password, but when trying to log in today I got the "You have made too many attempts and now must also solve this Captcha". This was after only one attempt, and the password was correct. Ended up having to use the "forgot my password" link to reactivate & get a new password... which also gave me the same error. It let me in after solving the 2nd Captcha, but no idea if it'll allow me in the next time.

Georgia boy
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:06 am
Location: Arizona

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by Georgia boy » Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:28 pm

ralplpcr wrote:
Georgia boy wrote:Had no issue changing but now seems like I'm getting those screens that you have to copy before being allowed to log in. I'll only log in once and will be told that I've made too many attempts and need to do so. Anyone else having that issue besides me?
Yes, I've had the exact same issue. I logged in yesterday & changed my password, but when trying to log in today I got the "You have made too many attempts and now must also solve this Captcha". This was after only one attempt, and the password was correct. Ended up having to use the "forgot my password" link to reactivate & get a new password... which also gave me the same error. It let me in after solving the 2nd Captcha, but no idea if it'll allow me in the next time.
Seems we're not only ones on this. Saw another thread about it after posting in this one.
Debian testing
Hp Pav a1440n
820 Intel Pent D procces 2 process cores, 2.0GB mem,250GB HD, NVIDA GeForce 7300LE, Intel ViiV.
ASUS A53SD-TS72 Intel Cor i7-2670QM 2.20GHz, 8GB DDR3, 750GB HDD, 2GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 610M, Mint LMDE2 64 bit.

User avatar
Schultz
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1604
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:57 pm

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by Schultz » Thu Feb 25, 2016 10:38 pm

After logging out, then back in, it has reappeared. Hope it gets fixed soon. I know everyone is busy behind the scenes.

Georgia boy
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:06 am
Location: Arizona

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by Georgia boy » Fri Feb 26, 2016 11:58 pm

Schultz wrote:After logging out, then back in, it has reappeared. Hope it gets fixed soon. I know everyone is busy behind the scenes.
Tonight worked fine. Will see how it continues.
Debian testing
Hp Pav a1440n
820 Intel Pent D procces 2 process cores, 2.0GB mem,250GB HD, NVIDA GeForce 7300LE, Intel ViiV.
ASUS A53SD-TS72 Intel Cor i7-2670QM 2.20GHz, 8GB DDR3, 750GB HDD, 2GB NVIDIA GeForce GT 610M, Mint LMDE2 64 bit.

User avatar
Pierre
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8924
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by Pierre » Sat Feb 27, 2016 12:07 am

that issue should now be fixed - maybe?

it's all fine on this PC - now get in on the first attempt,
& have been able to since late yesterday.
:)
although, there still seems to be a few, who say that they still can't get in, straight away.
:?
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
Lolo Uila
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 576
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:40 am
Location: Kapolei, Hawaii

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by Lolo Uila » Sat Feb 27, 2016 12:12 am

Did you check your email and reactivate your account?

When I changed my password I received an email that said I had to reactivate my account by clicking on a link.

Not sure if that has anything to do with the problems you all are having, but it hasn't happened to me at all.
Everyone thinks I'm crazy (except my friends deep inside the earth).

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by Cosmo. » Sat Feb 27, 2016 5:39 am

Pierre wrote:although, there still seems to be a few, who say that they still can't get in, straight away.
Count me to them. Logged in half an hour ago - with captcha.

1.618
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 590
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 9:22 am
Location: Surfing a multidimensional wave of celestial intent
Contact:

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by 1.618 » Sat Feb 27, 2016 7:18 am

Georgia boy wrote:Had no issue changing but now seems like I'm getting those screens that you have to copy before being allowed to log in. I'll only log in once and will be told that I've made too many attempts and need to do so. Anyone else having that issue besides me?

I had that the first time i tried to log in to this new board, i assumed it was something the mods had put in place to force us to change our passwords, or someone had been trying to access my account, thankfully my password happened to be a 'reactivation' temporary password because I forgot my original and sent for an email to reset it, so all the hackers will have is a default password, no clue as to how i really create my passwords, which are all different for different sites. :)

grizzler
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 657
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by grizzler » Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:44 pm

Cosmo. wrote:
Pierre wrote:although, there still seems to be a few, who say that they still can't get in, straight away.
Count me to them. Logged in half an hour ago - with captcha.
Same here.

Were we indeed supposed to receive an activation mail after entering the new password at the first login? I didn't get one.

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by Cosmo. » Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:58 pm

I got one, but that might be, because I also changed the e-mail address on the same step.

grizzler
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 657
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:19 pm
Location: The Hague, NL

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by grizzler » Sat Feb 27, 2016 5:01 pm

Right. I didn't. The e-mail account I use for this forum has a totally different password anyway (I never reuse passwords...).

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5415
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by killer de bug » Sat Feb 27, 2016 5:53 pm

grizzler wrote: Were we indeed supposed to receive an activation mail after entering the new password at the first login? I didn't get one.
Activation emails are only sent if you change the email address. No worries. :wink:
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5415
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by killer de bug » Sat Feb 27, 2016 5:55 pm

1.618 wrote:so all the hackers will have is a default password, no clue as to how i really create my passwords, which are all different for different sites. :)
Have you been able to change your password now?
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

adm
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by adm » Sun Feb 28, 2016 11:36 am

I clicked on the forgot password option and got sent a new password to use. Is it wiser to create a new password or is the one sent to me acceptable and secure?

Cosmo.
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17830
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by Cosmo. » Sun Feb 28, 2016 4:37 pm

Always create your own password. In any forum, on any software (if it should have a pre-defined password) and on any hardware (especially router).

User avatar
PeterRJG
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 8:00 am

Re: Change Forum Password

Post by PeterRJG » Mon Feb 29, 2016 6:02 am

I'm glad I changed mine as I hadn't altered since I signed up here originally and it was something simple and silly.

To the mods, maybe add a global announcement with a link to the profile page. It's not immediately noticeable in the forum header (and it's not clickable).

Post Reply

Return to “Chat about Linux Mint”