I have Mint 18.1 sitting on my Windows 10 Home PC screen

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Jenny
Level 1
Level 1

I have Mint 18.1 sitting on my Windows 10 Home PC screen

Post by Jenny » Thu Apr 13, 2017 8:33 pm

Complete Noob about Linux. Please talk to me like I'm a 5 year old. Before I open the program and let it set up I want to make sure I know what I'm doing.

I have a home PC with Windows 10. Lots of hard drive space, plenty of RAM.

Will the installation automatically create a partition and do all the necessary things itself?

Can I just open the install and let it do it's thing? On the Mint download page was a section about the ISO. I don't even know what an 'ISO' is. I tried to follow the instructions but I know ZIP about computer code, it all looks like Chinese to me. So, I skipped that part and just downloaded the program to my PC screen. And there it sits.

Am I good to let it install and just follow prompts and point & click options? Don't know what I'm doing guys. Please walk me through this. Hold my hand, give me an ice cream cone and point out the steps. Thanks in advance. Jenny

Pierre
Level 19
Level 19

Re: I have Mint 18.1 sitting on my Windows 10 Home PC screen

Post by Pierre » Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:10 pm

"Can I just open the install and let it do it's thing? "

in theory - you can do that, but it pays to be a bit smarter.
:)

have a read of this Tutorial:
viewtopic.php?f=42&t=163126

then look at this site, for how to burn that ISO to disk:
https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... /burn-mint

if you have any more Questions, then do post them back here .

you may wish to introduce yourself to some of the Ladies here:
viewtopic.php?t=209246
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

Lysander666
Level 3
Level 3

Post by Lysander666 » Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:25 am