Levels on Update Manager? [SOLVED]

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
wallyUSA
Level 6
Level 6

Levels on Update Manager? [SOLVED]

Post by wallyUSA »

I am new to Mint (& Linux) and learning it for my home, personal use. I see there are 5 levels of updates on the Update Manager. Is it safe to automatically install all fives levels? I remember seeing somewhere that level 4 & 5 might be risky. I see one today referring to Kernel 4.4.0-81.104. I like to keep things up-to-date but I do not need to be on the bleeding edge. Safest approach?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
> If your query has been resolved, edit your original post and add <SOLVED> to the beginning of the subject line. This may help others find solutions. <

Dell Latitude 7490 Mint 21.3 Ker 5.15.0-102 Cinn 6.0.4
Pjotr
Level 24
Level 24

Re: Levels on Update Manager?

Post by Pjotr »

wallyUSA wrote:Safest approach?
Only level 1, 2 and 3.

A bit less secure than when you install levels 4 and 5 as well, but it's still acceptable. A lot more secure than Windows. :)

Note that the level system has changed considerably in the new Update Manager in the upcoming Mint 18.2. I'm not quite sure whether this new Update Manager will also become available for Mint 18 and 18.1. I hope so, because it contains many improvements.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 21.3 Virginia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.
Cosmo.
Level 24
Level 24

Post by Cosmo. »

Pjotr wrote:I hope so, because it contains many improvements.
Hope not. It is a security disaster.
Pjotr
Level 24
Level 24

Post by Pjotr »

Cosmo. wrote: