Gloria RC 1

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
User avatar
Enoch Root
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:42 pm

Re: Gloria RC 1

Post by Enoch Root » Tue May 05, 2009 1:39 pm

"..For the fortunes you need to edit your bashrc..."

However, by default, there is NO .bashrc, correct?

Love the new look, Clem. Nice work!

cyfer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 6:11 am

Re: Gloria RC 1

Post by cyfer » Tue May 05, 2009 3:09 pm

emorrp1: Oh yeah, there the cheeky bastard is :D Thx.

Borsook
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 5:48 am

Re: Gloria RC 1

Post by Borsook » Wed May 06, 2009 10:43 am

Is there ATM a mint4win that works with Gloria?

User avatar
shane
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 940
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Gloria RC 1

Post by shane » Wed May 06, 2009 5:31 pm

Borsook wrote:Is there ATM a mint4win that works with Gloria?
check the release notes... i dont think mint4win works right now,,,

User avatar
kprowell
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: USA

Re: Gloria RC 1

Post by kprowell » Thu May 07, 2009 9:32 am

Last night I was installing Windows 7 RC on my Dell Latitude D810. Though it is a HUGE improvement over Vista, I was left feeling empty and not fully satisfied. Then today while at a client, I went to distrowatch and saw Mint 7 RC1. As soon as I got home I downloaded it and installed it on the same laptop. For a minute I was tempted to dual boot............I didn't. This distro is awesome and I feel completely at home now. Sorry Windows 7. Maybe it just took too long for MS to release a decent OS.

User avatar
terdon
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:52 pm
Location: Marseille

Re: Gloria RC 1

Post by terdon » Sat Jun 06, 2009 12:17 pm

By the way, if anyone want to enable the root acocunt, or change its password you should do the following:

Code: Select all

sudo passwd
This will first ask you for your password (sudo) and THEN for the new UNIX password you want to use for the root account. After that you should be able to switch to the superuser account by using

Code: Select all

su
I may be paranoid but I really don't like the idea of sharing one password between the root and normal user accounts.

PS. Great job guys! As usual...

Post Reply

Return to “Chat about Linux Mint”