Cinnamon versus KDE

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
wutsinterweb
Level 6
Level 6

Cinnamon versus KDE

Post by wutsinterweb »

Now that I've tried and used Cinnamon for a while, I've grown to prefer it over KDE, I never thought I'd like something more than KDE, but Cinnamon is more intuitive and straightforward to me.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
I've been using Mint for over 4 years, but I'm still a slow learner. I have a website: https://pickfetish.com. It is dedicated to guitar/instrument picks.
sevendogs

Re: Cinnamon versus KDE

Post by sevendogs »

Not to mention more stable. KDE has always fascinated me because it is so configurable, but since the "plasma" series came out, I have tried it numerous times in numerous distros and none of them are stable: I always get desktop crashes or other glitches I don't get in other DEs. Too bad really since it is a pretty powerful desktop environment.
Lucap
Level 6
Level 6

Post by Lucap »

In benchmarks KDE nearly always comes out as the slowest and the most resource heavy.
lmuserx4849

Post by lmuserx4849 »

wutsinterweb wrote:Now that I've tried and used Cinnamon for a while, I've grown to prefer it over KDE, I never thought I'd like something more than KDE, but Cinnamon is more intuitive and straightforward to me.
In production I use LM 17.3/KDE (kde4). I tried Cinnamon, but I'm going with Mate.
Hoser Rob
Level 20
Level 20

Post by Hoser Rob »

Lucap wrote:In benchmarks KDE nearly always comes out as the slowest and the most resource heavy.