32 Bit System

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
opensourceanonymous
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 6:39 am

32 Bit System

Post by opensourceanonymous » Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:04 pm

Hope to be in the right place.... I would just like to thank Linux Mint for still supporting the 32 Bit architecture. Old computers can still be used and not thrown away because of Windows not being supported on them.

whm1974
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:07 pm

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by whm1974 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 5:38 pm

Not to start a flame war or upset anyone, but considering that low end and refurbished 64-bit systems are fairly cheap, why continue to stick with such old hardware? Even applications are starting to drop 32-bit versions or have already done so.

User avatar
Schultz
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1177
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 8:57 pm

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by Schultz » Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:27 pm

It may not happen tomorrow, but the days of 32 bit are numbered.

whm1974
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:07 pm

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by whm1974 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:31 pm

Schultz wrote:It may not happen tomorrow, but the days of 32 bit are numbered.
And on live support.

User avatar
BaltyRaven
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 11:38 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by BaltyRaven » Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:18 pm

There are operating systems like Windows 7, 8, and 10 that still support the 64-bit architecture. But considering that you would probably need more RAM (random access memory) in the near future for accessing vital applications, it's not recommended for older computers to use more modern software that was made over the past 5 years.
Linux PC:
1.89 GHz Intel Core i3 (Dual Core)
8GB of DDR3 RAM
320GB HDD

User avatar
Pierre
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6895
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by Pierre » Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:28 pm

there is now, some Ex Vista PCs that are now coming available:
- why would you *not* re-use them ?

in a few more years time, then some Ex win-7 PCs will be available:
- why would you *not* re-use them ?


not to continue that 'flame war' - - but some continents can get this hardware cheaper,
- than some continents, like over here - have to shell out.
:twisted:

and I've not even got around to mentioned "That M$ Tax" that is on every machine that you do buy.
:roll:
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
Tomgin5
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 774
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 2:37 pm
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by Tomgin5 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:18 pm

Big laugh today. The Microsoft robocaller called today warning that my Office 365 license is expiring. 3 times today. I usuallly just hang up but this time I started whooping and hollering "Hooray!!", Never had it and never will.
4 32 bit laptops with with LM 18.3 Cinnamon running. Just as fast as a dozen 64 bit machines running 64 bit with similar CPU's. Just all single core on the 32 bit.

whm1974
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:07 pm

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by whm1974 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:45 pm

Tomgin5 wrote:Big laugh today. The Microsoft robocaller called today warning that my Office 365 license is expiring. 3 times today. I usuallly just hang up but this time I started whooping and hollering "Hooray!!", Never had it and never will.
4 32 bit laptops with with LM 18.3 Cinnamon running. Just as fast as a dozen 64 bit machines running 64 bit with similar CPU's. Just all single core on the 32 bit.
I wonder how many people fell for that scam?

User avatar
Pierre
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6895
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by Pierre » Tue Jan 30, 2018 1:44 am

I'd also wonder if that Robocall was limited to just that one country?
or, if it will progressively roll out to other countries.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
michael louwe
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2302
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:18 pm

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by michael louwe » Tue Jan 30, 2018 3:03 am

opensourceanonymous wrote:Hope to be in the right place.... I would just like to thank Linux Mint for still supporting the 32 Bit architecture. Old computers can still be used and not thrown away because of Windows not being supported on them.
.
I think the coming Ubuntu 18.04/LM 19.0 will not support 32bit systems = EOL for Ubuntu/LM 32bit systems will be April 2021.

Looks like tech companies want to phase out 32bit systems because of the 2038 year bug ... https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Year_2038_problem

64bit systems require at least 4GB of RAM to run properly.

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8113
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by jimallyn » Tue Jan 30, 2018 4:56 am

Pierre wrote:there is now, some Ex Vista PCs that are now coming available:
- why would you *not* re-use them ?
Had a 32 bit, single core Vista machine given to me just the other day, and installed Mint 18.3 XFCE on it. Probably give it to my brother who has been complaining for years that his old Windows machine is bogged down and hardly runs anymore. I keep telling him to put Linux on it, but he says, nah, it's too old, and it's all bogged down with viruses and such. I don't think he understands that installing Linux will fix all that. Well, if he won't let me revive his old machine with Linux, I'll just send him a computer with Linux on it.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

151tom
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by 151tom » Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:45 am

Paid $1.00 for this 10 years old with only 2.0GB memory and a Pentium D 950 and 64bit Linux runs excellent. :D

Code: Select all

151tom@dell-optiplex-320:~
$ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: dell-optiplex-320 Kernel: 4.14.14-antix.1-amd64-smp x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 6.3.0
           Desktop: IceWM 1.4.2 Distro: antiX-17_x64-base Heather Heyer 24 October 2017
Machine:   Device: desktop System: Dell product: OptiPlex 320 serial: N/A
           Mobo: Dell model: 0TY915 serial: N/A BIOS: Dell v: 1.1.12 date: 11/30/2007
CPU:       Dual core Intel Pentium D (-MCP-) arch: Netburst Prescott rev.4 cache: 2048 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 vmx) bmips: 13601
           clock speeds: max: 3400 MHz 1: 3400 MHz 2: 3400 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] RV516 [Radeon X1300/X1550 Series] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.2 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1280x720@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV515 version: 2.1 Mesa 13.0.6 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.14.14-antix.1-amd64-smp
Network:   Card: Broadcom Limited BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX driver: b44 v: 2.0 bus-ID: 02:09.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 40.0GB (16.0% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD400JB size: 40.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 35G used: 4.1G (13%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 2.15GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda2
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 112 Uptime: 2:17 Memory: 433.9/1994.8MB Init: SysVinit runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 6.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.121) inxi: 2.3.54 
151tom@dell-optiplex-320:~

User avatar
JerryF
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2636
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by JerryF » Tue Jan 30, 2018 11:55 am

michael louwe wrote:...
64bit systems require at least 4GB of RAM to run properly.
Not true. I have three that have Mint 64-bit and 2 GB RAM and all run "properly".
IF AND WHEN your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

whm1974
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:07 pm

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by whm1974 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:18 pm

JerryF wrote:
michael louwe wrote:...
64bit systems require at least 4GB of RAM to run properly.
Not true. I have three that have Mint 64-bit and 2 GB RAM and all run "properly".
That depends on what applications you are running and your workflow. Although for 64-bit systems I do recommend having at least 4GB of memory if not 8GB.

151tom
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:57 pm

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by 151tom » Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:29 pm

JerryF wrote:
michael louwe wrote:...
64bit systems require at least 4GB of RAM to run properly.
Not true. I have three that have Mint 64-bit and 2 GB RAM and all run "properly".
I second JerryF.

Exactly a lot depends on if a user is running resource intensive apps than 4.0GB may be the minimum requirement for 64 bit to run properly although for basic web browsing and email or youtube 64bit Linux and 2.0GB Ram works great or does on the desktop I posted earlier.

I did it just to see how it would run because most say and I quote "64bit systems require at least 4GB of RAM to run properly".

I have no complaints with how this desktop runs. :D

User avatar
BaltyRaven
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 11:38 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by BaltyRaven » Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:08 pm

michael louwe wrote:
opensourceanonymous wrote:Hope to be in the right place.... I would just like to thank Linux Mint for still supporting the 32 Bit architecture. Old computers can still be used and not thrown away because of Windows not being supported on them.
64bit systems require at least 4GB of RAM to run properly.
You could run a 64-bit version of an OS with less than 4GB of RAM (mostly for Linux distributions) and it could still run properly. Although you should run it with at least 2GB of RAM, depending on your computer.
Last edited by BaltyRaven on Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Linux PC:
1.89 GHz Intel Core i3 (Dual Core)
8GB of DDR3 RAM
320GB HDD

DAMIEN1307
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 626
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:13 pm

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by DAMIEN1307 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:11 pm

151tom wrote "Paid $1.00 for this 10 years old with only 2.0GB memory and a Pentium D 950 and 64bit Linux runs excellent."

151tom do you always pay such extravagant amounts of money like this?...10 years old?,...when exactly do you think you will ever see your moneys worth from such an extravagant purchase?...lol...lol...lol...DAMIEN

User avatar
JerryF
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2636
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by JerryF » Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:34 pm

BaltyRaven wrote: You could run a 64-bit version of an OS with less than 4GB of RAM (mostly for Linux distributions) and it could still run properly. Although you should run it with no more than 2GB of RAM, depending on your computer.
Your last statement isn't making sense. Most of the chipsets in 64-bit computers can handle 4 to 16 GB RAM.
IF AND WHEN your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
BaltyRaven
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2018 11:38 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by BaltyRaven » Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:43 pm

JerryF wrote:
BaltyRaven wrote: You could run a 64-bit version of an OS with less than 4GB of RAM (mostly for Linux distributions) and it could still run properly. Although you should run it with no more than 2GB of RAM, depending on your computer.
Your last statement isn't making sense. Most of the chipsets in 64-bit computers can handle 4 to 16 GB RAM.
I said at least. Sometimes my words are mixed up.
Linux PC:
1.89 GHz Intel Core i3 (Dual Core)
8GB of DDR3 RAM
320GB HDD

User avatar
JerryF
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2636
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: 32 Bit System

Post by JerryF » Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:53 pm

BaltyRaven wrote:
JerryF wrote:
BaltyRaven wrote: You could run a 64-bit version of an OS with less than 4GB of RAM (mostly for Linux distributions) and it could still run properly. Although you should run it with no more than 2GB of RAM, depending on your computer.
Your last statement isn't making sense. Most of the chipsets in 64-bit computers can handle 4 to 16 GB RAM.
I said at least. Sometimes my words are mixed up.
You meant "at least", but wrote "no more than". That's why I was confused. :wink:
IF AND WHEN your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

Post Reply

Return to “Chat about Linux Mint”