Linux Mint Forever!

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
cecilieaux
Level 5
Level 5

Linux Mint Forever!

Post by cecilieaux »

I left Ubuntu for Linux Mint because of Unity. I absolutely hated Unity. I'm a computer user and use my phone sparingly for genuine computer purposes. I saw no reason for one common interface. This is where Canonical went off the rails for me.

To me GUI and eye candy is important. I have written the odd script and program but I am not a programmer or a heavy techie. I want something that works and I want it to look the way I like. Mint does that.

Initially, I chafed under the truly conservative approach of Mint. I rebelled at having to do clean installs to upgrade (you really should, I learned). I even rebelled at the idea of not upgrading just for so.

But, you know, now Ubuntu is out without Unity and with all the security blankets I loved. Yet, I'm kinda stuck in a love affair with Mint, which is customizable, to which I can add programs that are not in repositories (I know: bad, bad Cecilieaux!). I love Cinnamon. Why would I ever want to go back to plain Gnome?

I just don't see myself doing that any more. Mint is home. Please keep my home going, folks. I can't donate too much, too often, but I have and will once again soon. I think the team is doing a great job being cautious. I like their apps. I even like that they're trying to speed things up with Tara.

I may change my tune, but for now ... Linux Mint forever!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Cecilieaux
--
Every time I think I'm past newbiedom something like this happens.
Running Linux Mint 21 Vera with Cinnamon.
ud6

Re: Linux Mint Forever!

Post by ud6 »