Going back to LM 18.3

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Going back to LM 18.3

Post by AZgl1500 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:12 pm

Linux-Bill wrote:
Fri Aug 10, 2018 7:06 am
If you think these problems are bad, try being a Windows 10 IT guy. Every update causes hours and hours of grief and it all varies from machine to machine. Seems no two ever react to updating the same.

I do run 18.3 as 19 was a bag of small problems. In a few months that will all be fixed and I can switch to 19.

a lady friend down the street runs a Graphics Sign , cover wraps business, the April updates killed her Win10 PC and somehow destroyed the directory structure on both of the backup hard drives....
cost her a bundle to have the Forensics guy to restore the last 15 years of data files.....
she thought having a backup to the backup was a good thing, unfortunately, they were all online from the same PC.... bad deal. she wants me to move her over to Linux Mint as soon as she gets a new desktop built up.

LM19 Cinnamon has too many problems for me right now, my 18.3 Cinnamon runs like a well oiled sewing machine.

I have LMDE3 Cinnamon on a 2nd partition on this same laptop, and it looks like that just might convince me to move over to that instead of the 18/19 series. it runs soooooo smooth, and is faster than 18.3 on the same pc.

User avatar
Valsodar
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:30 pm
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Going back to LM 18.3

Post by Valsodar » Fri Aug 10, 2018 7:59 pm

tgwilt wrote:
Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:34 pm
I ran LM 19 cinnamon version for about a week. Didn't have any problems other than it was slow to boot, and a lot of things just seemed to run slower to me. Granted, I didn't time them and do a comparison, but I decided to go back to LM 18.3 today. The install was easy, and I was able to restore my homedir, although Timeshift wouldn't show any snapshots. I know the snapshots were on the external drive - I checked, but it wasn't a big deal.

There you have it. If LM 19 ever seems to boot, shutdown, and run as fast as LM 18.3, I'll install it again. No biggee. This is just my opinion, and YMMV.
I think the slow boot is caused by the microcodes they force you to install. When you install 19, it doesn't come with microcodes at first. The latter comes when you choose to update kernel. Without kernel updates it boots up just fine, so the only logical cause is the stupid microcode.
It is hard but no impossible to make Mint 19 run with 4.13.0-45 kernel which is the only decent version AND it's the last kernel version that DOESN'T force you to install microcodes. Which is why I have disabled all kernel updates on my 18.3.
You just have to open Synaptic and type (no words) 4.13.0-45. This will bring up packages whose names end with "generic" and "legacy". There's also one that doesn't have the word "generic" in its name. Select that one and everything with the "generic" (headers included) for install, apply and then reboot to load the new kernel.
BUT!!! Assuming that this doesn't work due to differences in the repoes, you gotta search in pkgs.org manually (click on the tab for ubuntu 16.04 xenial), download these packages and install them in this order:
1. linux-headers-4.13.0-45_4.13.0-45.50~16.04.1_all.deb
2. linux-headers-4.13.0-45-generic_4.13.0-45.50~16.04.1_amd64.deb
3. linux-image-4.13.0-45-generic_4.13.0-45.50~16.04.1_amd64.deb
4. linux-image-extra-4.13.0-45-generic_4.13.0-45.50~16.04.1_amd64.deb

I already did that on my sister's computer (Mint 19) and having this kernel didn't make the rest of the problems go away, it just made the boot up time a lot faster.
AsRock B85M Pro4, Core i3-4170, Palit GTX 1050 Ti 4GB, Corsair CX750 PSU, Corsair 32GB DDR3-1600, Corsair Force LE 120GB, WD Caviar Blue + Green = 1.5TB, Firefox 61.0.1 x64, Mint 18.3 Cinnamon, kr 4.13.0-45

rickNS
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: Going back to LM 18.3

Post by rickNS » Sat Aug 25, 2018 8:52 am

It's been said many times, by the smartest of the smart..."upgrade for a reason"
I haven't upgraded from 18.0, why ? for 1, no reason, for 2, I really like the colors tweak in customizing themes, which is missing in 18.2 and forward.
Pssst, developers please bring that back.

That said I do have mint 19v2 on a stick with persistence, that I am configuring, and adding to for eventual deployment...maybe. So far I have no problems with it. I may even skip mint 19 all together for mint 20 will be out before 18 becomes obsolete. I've skipped a few major releases already, I went from mint 9 to 13, to 17 briefly, to 18.

Needs repeating "upgrade for a reason"
Mint 18 mate on 2 identical Thinkpad T420's

User avatar
JerryF
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2907
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Going back to LM 18.3

Post by JerryF » Sat Aug 25, 2018 1:55 pm

AZgl1500 wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:11 pm
...
Aptik does NOT backup your data.... just the OS and Preferences.
Aptik DOES backup your data if you tell it to.
Shutter-031.jpg
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2316
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Going back to LM 18.3

Post by AZgl1500 » Sat Aug 25, 2018 8:11 pm

most folks go with the Defaults,

I never use it for data. that is what LuckyBackup is for.

if you use Aptik for DATA, you will NOT be able to inspect the data to see what is there.
you take it all, or none.

still, the option is there... I just never use it.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2907
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Going back to LM 18.3

Post by JerryF » Sun Aug 26, 2018 9:48 am

I think people misunderstand the intention of Aptik. It's main purpose is for migration from one system to another.

Selective backup and restore is better left to other apps.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

Post Reply

Return to “Chat about Linux Mint”