My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Post Reply
User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3474
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by JerryF » Sat Oct 06, 2018 12:17 pm

I took the plunge and got an Samsung EVO 250 GB SSD. My laptop had a 320 GB HDD. I attached my Samsung with my USB to SATA adapter. No problems there; it was instantly accessible.

I tried cloning the the HDD to the SSD using my bootable USB EaseUS Todo Backup (purchased) that has cloning. Unfortunately, my 9.2 version doesn't recognize EXT4 filesystem natively and has to use the sector by sector copy feature which takes a long time. Because it's a sector by sector copy, I couldn't resize any partition so that I could fit the larger 320 GB to the 250 GB. One thing it does have is an option to ✔---Optimize for SSD.

I then turned to my bootable USB (Linux version) of MiniTool Wizard Pro 8.1.1 (purchased). It's always done well for me with partitioning. Oddly enough, my / and /home partitions weren't being recognized as EXT4, only as "Other". Another EXT4 partition was recognized as "Ext4" and the Swap was recognized as "Linux Swap".

Because / and /home partitions were recognized as "Other", it was a sector by sector copy. At this point, I figured that I had better shrink the 320 GB HDD partitions so that they'd be small enough to fit onto the 250 GB SSD. I did that and then completed the copy. When I tried to boot the SSD, the message was that there was no OS found and was unbootable.

So I turned to Clonezilla, which I'm not crazy about but I figured that it's going to do the job. After burning a bootable DVD of the latest Clonezilla, I proceeded to clone the HDD to the SSD. Another hurdle. Clonezilla complained that my 320 GB HDD had both MBR and GPT elements (not a quote) and I would need to run sudo sgdisk --zap /dev/sdx on it. I did that. I proceeded to try the clone again. All seemed to work, but when I tried to boot from the SSD, it was a no go.

This was the point where I was at my wits end. I created an Aptik backup of my HDD, then I decided to do a complete fresh install onto the SSD and restore the Aptik backup. It worked like a charm! There were only a couple of items I had to redo (my desktop picture, login picture and options, and others that I don't recall).

Thank goodness for Aptik!!!
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 857
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by AndyMH » Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:48 am

When I had to do this moving from a 240G SSD to a 480G SSD I used redo to backup the partitions and restore to the new SSD. Problem - it wouldn't boot. Fired up boot-repair, fixed the problem, easy! Then gparted to resize the partitions.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19, Thinkpad T430 i7-3632 Cinnamon 19, Thinkpad T420 Cinnamon 18.3, Thinkpad T410 Cinnamon 17.3, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

User avatar
Pierre
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7699
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by Pierre » Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:54 am

on the odd occasion, where I've cloned a few partitions onto another drive,
& what I've usually done, is to leave a spare partition, in order to install another Linux System.
- that will then, of course, detect any other Operating System, and then add them to it's Boot Menu.
this avoids that Boot Failure Issue, which I've also experienced, as well.
8)
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
smurphos
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2253
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher...

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by smurphos » Sun Oct 07, 2018 4:25 am

JerryF wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 12:17 pm
Thank goodness for Aptik!!!
Indeed, i did the same about a month ago except I skipped attempting to clone the old HDD. An Aptik assisted fresh install and all up and running within an hour of taking the old HDD out. I like Aptik a lot.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3474
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by JerryF » Sun Oct 07, 2018 10:57 am

AndyMH wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:48 am
When I had to do this moving from a 240G SSD to a 480G SSD I used redo to backup the partitions and restore to the new SSD. Problem - it wouldn't boot. Fired up boot-repair, fixed the problem, easy! Then gparted to resize the partitions.
I tried boot-repair several times. Much to my surprise, it didn't work. 😢
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3474
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by JerryF » Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:03 am

smurphos wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 4:25 am
JerryF wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 12:17 pm
Thank goodness for Aptik!!!
Indeed, i did the same about a month ago except I skipped attempting to clone the old HDD. An Aptik assisted fresh install and all up and running within an hour of taking the old HDD out. I like Aptik a lot.
It's funny, so many praise Clonezilla, but I've never found it to be easy and effective.

If I ever need/want to replace my disk, I'm not even going to try cloning.
Last edited by JerryF on Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11842
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by WharfRat » Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:17 am

JerryF,

I've never used Aptik - I've cloned numerous disks and always used the dd utility with 100% success :wink:
ImageImage

srq2625
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:35 am
Location: State: Constant Confusion, Country: D'oh

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by srq2625 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 12:54 pm

I recently moved an LM install from one HDD to another but opted to:
  • Boot up LM LiveUSB
  • Shrink one partition with gparted because it was larger than it needed to be
  • Copy all the partitions from the source to the destination using gparted
  • Fix grub:
    • $ sudo os-prober to get the device on which LM is copied
    • $ sudo mount /dev/sdaX /mnt to mount that partition
    • $ sudo grub-install --root-directory=/mnt /dev/sdX
  • Reboot the computer to the new disk
Of course, the above works with BIOS and not with UEFI (haven't figured that part out yet).

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3474
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by JerryF » Sun Oct 07, 2018 1:53 pm

WharfRat wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:17 am
JerryF,

I've never used Aptik - I've cloned numerous disks and always used the dd utility with 100% success :wink:
I've never tried dd. Many swear by it, but I was reluctant to use it.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 857
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by AndyMH » Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:04 pm

It funny, so many praise Clonezilla, but I've never found it to be easy and effective.
Likewise, which is why I use redo.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19, Thinkpad T430 i7-3632 Cinnamon 19, Thinkpad T420 Cinnamon 18.3, Thinkpad T410 Cinnamon 17.3, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3474
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by JerryF » Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:16 pm

srq2625 wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 12:54 pm
I recently moved an LM install from one HDD to another but opted to:
  • Boot up LM LiveUSB
  • Shrink one partition with gparted because it was larger than it needed to be
  • Copy all the partitions from the source to the destination using gparted
  • Fix grub:
    • $ sudo os-prober to get the device on which LM is copied
    • $ sudo mount /dev/sdaX /mnt to mount that partition
    • $ sudo grub-install --root-directory=/mnt /dev/sdX
  • Reboot the computer to the new disk
Of course, the above works with BIOS and not with UEFI (haven't figured that part out yet).
I tried that. I had to shrink the / and /home partitions to a size that would fit the new disk. Then I wanted to copy a logical partition from the old disk to a primary partition on the new disk which Gparted won't do.

That's when I found out it wouldn't boot and tried boot-repair several times, which didn't work.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

srq2625
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 11:35 am
Location: State: Constant Confusion, Country: D'oh

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by srq2625 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 4:41 pm

JerryF wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:16 pm
I tried that. I had to shrink the / and /home partitions to a size that would fit the new disk. Then I wanted to copy a logical partition from the old disk to a primary partition on the new disk which Gparted won't do.

That's when I found out it wouldn't boot and tried boot-repair several times, which didn't work.
I don't know, but I'm guessing it was the copying of a logical (i.e., extended) partition that caused the issue.

User avatar
dXTC
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 199
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:19 pm
Location: Closer to the Derby than I care to admit

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by dXTC » Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:14 pm

JerryF,
I was wondering if you've noticed any performance boost or improved battery life with the SSD upgrade. I had just finished doing the same type of upgrade for my Dell Inspiron laptop earlier this afternoon.

(I didn't have anywhere near the problems you had with Clonezilla, but I attribute that to the SSD's having exactly the same capacity of the hard drive it replaced. My problem was getting the laptop disassembled-- on my particular model, just about everything but the display must be taken apart in order to get to the hard drive bay.)
dXTC
-----
IT oldie, Linux newbie, and all-around goofy fellow.
Mint Cinnamon on Dell XPS 210, Optiplex 760, Inspiron N4110 and Latitude E4200;
Mint Xfce on Lenovo Ideapad S10.
Some OS X and WinXP too; I'm multi-platform like that.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3474
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by JerryF » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:19 pm

dXTC wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:14 pm
JerryF,
I was wondering if you've noticed any performance boost or improved battery life with the SSD upgrade. I had just finished doing the same type of upgrade for my Dell Inspiron laptop earlier this afternoon.

(I didn't have anywhere near the problems you had with Clonezilla, but I attribute that to the SSD's having exactly the same capacity of the hard drive it replaced. My problem was getting the laptop disassembled-- on my particular model, just about everything but the display must be taken apart in order to get to the hard drive bay.)
I can't speak with regards to the battery life because I use my laptop at home and rarely is it unplugged. The startup time from cold boot to login screen is 20 seconds and from login to desktop is 3 seconds.

Sorry to hear that yours was difficult to replace. Mine was a removal of the battery (two latch releases) and slide out the bottom panel. Three screws to release the hard drive holder and slide out the hard drive with its case. Four screws to removed, put in the new SSD, and then do everything in reverse. The physical replacement took about 5 minutes.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members.

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by AZgl1500 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 11:10 pm

AndyMH wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:04 pm
It funny, so many praise Clonezilla, but I've never found it to be easy and effective.
Likewise, which is why I use redo.
I have had more failures with Clonezilla by far, than success.
the menu system is a poorly crafted guide....
I have stuffed it into the waste basket....

ReDo works on some hardware, but not others that I own.

Macrium Reflect's Rescue Disk with all of the Extra Hardware Options added to it,
works on every piece of hardware I have tried it on.
the only Caveat with MR, is the boot up process while it is searching for the right drivers for a PC, is just a black screen w/o any progress indicators.

So, I just make sure the DVD light is blinking, and go mow the grass.

rickNS
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by rickNS » Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:42 am

JerryF wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 12:17 pm
I took the plunge and got an Samsung EVO 250 GB SSD. My laptop had a 320 GB HDD. I attached my Samsung with my USB to SATA adapter. No problems there; it was instantly accessible.

I tried cloning the the HDD to the SSD using my bootable USB EaseUS Todo Backup (purchased) that has cloning.
I got the same drive awhile ago. All my drives in use are cloned, The master as I call it is like a backup.
I also used TODO Backup (FREE version from a long time ago don't recall which version though) I am surprised that it didn't work for you, it worked flawlessly for me every time including the dual boot stuff.
Mint 18 mate on 2 identical Thinkpad T420's

User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2876
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: My journey of replacing my HDD with an SSD

Post by AZgl1500 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:08 pm

smurphos wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 4:25 am
JerryF wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 12:17 pm
Thank goodness for Aptik!!!
Indeed, i did the same about a month ago except I skipped attempting to clone the old HDD. An Aptik assisted fresh install and all up and running within an hour of taking the old HDD out. I like Aptik a lot.
I have espoused upon Aptik for a long time.
It is much simpler, and usually faster to do a fresh install of the OS, and then let Aptik put the house back in order.

No Pain, No Strain.... just tell it to go, and get another six pack out.

Post Reply

Return to “Chat about Linux Mint”