Getting Flustered About Where to Report Bugs/Suggestions

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
N3wb

Getting Flustered About Where to Report Bugs/Suggestions

Post by N3wb »

I'm fairly new to Linux Mint, been about 2+ weeks now. During my usage, I can see issues/have suggestions which I feel are small and easy to implement.
The issue is that I have no idea where to report these issues to, there's so many GitHub repositories and LM also uses some components from Ubuntu that I never feel sure about which category/repository should I file an issue. Also I don't want the developers to feel like I'm pestering them with filing issues that don't pertain to them (eg: filing kernel issues to someone who handles cinnamon gui).

Any guidance?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Moem
Level 22
Level 22

Re: Getting Flustered About Where to Report Bugs/Suggestions

Post by Moem »

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!
N3wb

Post by N3wb »

In the first link, the second line: "First have a look at the bug tracker of Cinnamon or whatever project you find the bug in."

That's where I stop, because I'm not sure which project the issue falls under. Maybe if they had a central issue tracker (like JIRA) and then redirected it to their respective projects after vetting, I'd feel more confident about reporting them.

For example, let's say I have a problem with my WiFi led indicator behaviour and feel like it's fix is relatively easy to implement, does that fall under Cinnamon project or Linux kernel project?
Moem
Level 22
Level 22

Post by Moem »