Linux Mint 19.2 - Issues

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Fernando745
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint 19.2 - Issues

Post by Fernando745 » Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:01 pm

Hello, this is my first time posting in this forum. I couldn't guess which was the right section for this kind of bugs, so if this is not the correct one, my apologies.

Let's go ahead... recently, since I updated to Linux Mint 19.2 via Software Updater, I've noticed some issues in the environment and functionality of the operating system. The main one and most noticeable happens when you lock your computer; when you try to relogin, password is not visible. However, it somehow works and you can enter the desktop if you type it correctly (although you can't see it).

The second one, on the other hand, is related to codecs availability or compatibility in the new Linux Mint version. The web browser called "Opera" does not work right after the update; no matter what, I've tried to reinstall chromium important codecs, aswell as the extra ones and it hasn't worked. To clarify, the concrete problem is that it can't be used to watch some videos (for instance, the Facebook ones), unlike Mozilla Firefox which works perfectly (even after the update). I believe there's something wrong with the codecs version and needs to be up to date in the Software Manager (Opera is already). Currently, I haven't noticed anything else, apart from that it works perfectly.

I tend to use Opera often, and not seeing letters as you type them in the login password box is something to worry about. Hopefully you can fix them as soon as possible. Thank you for your support.

carum carvi
Level 6
Level 6

Re: Linux Mint 19.2 - Issues

Post by carum carvi » Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:29 pm

Welcome to the LinuxMint forum Fernando,