Do you use VPN, which one, and why

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
mike acker
Level 6
Level 6

Do you use VPN, which one, and why

Post by mike acker » Wed Sep 25, 2019 7:57 pm

I havn't been setting up systems for folks io include a VPN. Today, I got pretty much a demand for one. So, I've been reading up on assorted reviews. But the puzzle is ? why ?

In some cases a VPN would make sense: anytime a system is going to be used over public-wi-fi such as in a coffee shop or similar public area it makes sense.

Or if I'm a dissident journalist in some troubled country then it might make sense or more than likely I'd use TOR.

or maybe if I'm reading naughty stuff, or maybe I just don't like being watched.

apparently there's two ways to approach starting a VPN: one is to subscribe to a VPN service and install their client; the other being to use a web-browser plug-in

any thoughts/guidance -- will be appreciated !!
¡Viva la Resistencia!

catweazel
Level 19
Level 19

Re: Do you use VPN, which one, and why

Post by catweazel » Wed Sep 25, 2019 8:51 pm

mike acker wrote:
Wed Sep 25, 2019 7:57 pm
any thoughts/guidance -- will be appreciated !!
I use Vypr VPN, for online privacy. I used to use Nord but it's a terrible, terrible pain to use when you want to find a server.
"There is, ultimately, only one truth -- cogito, ergo sum -- everything else is an assumption." - Me, my swansong.

ajgringo619
Level 6
Level 6

Post by ajgringo619 » Wed Sep 25, 2019 8:56 pm

I use Private Tunnel, for the same reasons as Catweazel. I only turn it off when a website needs to know my real location, and then only if the need is legally justified, like watching certain TV channels or sports sites (like Fanduel).
Mint 19.2 XFCE
kernel 4.15.0-70-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce 960 w/2GB RAM (440.26)

majpooper
Level 5
Level 5

Post by majpooper » Wed Sep 25, 2019 9:21 pm