Installing Linux on a work comp....Do you tell your boss?

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint

Would you install linux on a work pc or laptop and not tell your boss?

Yes
7%
No
83%
Maybe
7%
Not Sure
2%

Total votes: 41

Rouge11
Level 1
Level 1

Installing Linux on a work comp....Do you tell your boss?

Post by Rouge11 »

Hello all.

My question is would you install linux on a work pc or laptop and not tell your boss?
Even though they dont know what you do nor have they even checked or looked at your computer over the past 7 years.
Do I just continue to use crap bc they are not willing to change?

Me:
I have been using linux for 3 years on my personal computers (Ubuntu, Parrot OS and Mint). Working from home a lot this year, I have been able to do my job using linux programs.

Company:
I work for a small startup company of 6 people and have been there over 7 years now and get a new comp ever 2 yrs. Basically every new person that comes gets a new cheap $200-300 laptop (uses it for a year) then the next replacement uses for maybe a year or they just buy new ones and keep the old ones as backups or throw them out. They are not tech savvy. They use edge, outlook and type with 2 fingers. Occasionally download a virus or fall prey to a scam.

Computers:
I have a cheap all-in-one desktop in the office and laptop they want me to use for home use now instead of my personal comp. The cheap desktop at the office is slow, I luckily convinced him to let me install at least 8MB RAM and upgrade the hard drive when he finally saw me click and wait like 2 mins for it to do something. He wanted to pay our tech to do it. I just went ahead and did it saving him a few hundred the guy charged us for upgrading a coworkers computer a few days earlier.

Programs: