What is your failure rate working with Mint?

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
axrusar
Level 6
Level 6

What is your failure rate working with Mint?

Post by axrusar »

This is a mix of rant and question for you guys..

I have been using Mint for 6 Months already and i use the computer to do work.
Most things are done in a web browser nowadays so i don't have much complaints there, but working with applications and networking
has been a journey of awesomeness because of the whole concept, free apps and what not, but it also let me down at very hot moments
like right in front of customers..

Issues are random... such as not being able to connect to new wifi networks, or not getting internet once connected, multiple lockups using different programs, video glitches after unplugging external monitors, multiple issues when resuming from sleep state all the way to insecurity right on the login screen showing the open apps in the back without actually typing the password, random cinnamon glitches and lockups, unresponsive file manager, applets and taskbar apps crashing, bluetooth issues where now i need to deal with workarounds, sound issues, scaling issues, multiple issues after running system updates, lost configurations after reboots, duplication of programs, or having to reboot in order to get back to a working system, and i can keep going on...

Im using a pretty decent i7 laptop with 16 gigs of ram, NVME and also an older i5 desktop were i had a few issues with Mint too.

Right now when i go to work with a customer, i need to think beforehand what i will be doing in order to not look like an idiot and boot either Mint or Windows 10 so i can actually do what i need, but all my work and files are in the Mint installation so it is an issue.