Timeshift alternative: ZFS support and backup user files

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
ceratophyllum
Level 1
Level 1

Timeshift alternative: ZFS support and backup user files

Post by ceratophyllum »

Have I missed something? I'm new to Mint but Timeshift makes no sense to me: why all this fuss to preserve system files you can download anywhere and NO SUPPORT for personal user files backup. I mean, loss of personal files, photos, and documents is a major pain; computer not booting/broken GUI due to borky distro update is a routine hassle that most linux/windows users have probably learned to cope with one way or another.

Also, ZFS has worked really well for a long time. I know there's some lawyer BS about licensing forcing Linux to reinvent it and call it something else (Maybe some remember ogg vs. mp3 silliness years ago?), but is the Oracle or the American DOJ really going to break your door down if you add support for ZFS in Timeshift? Ubuntu install GUI already supports install to ZFS and they haven't been hauled off by the cops.

Anyway, I can always continue using the commandline zfsnap for snapshot management but I'm surprised that after all these years there still seems to be no gui for ZFS snapshot management for any major distro?
Last edited by LockBot on Mon Feb 13, 2023 11:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Hoser Rob
Level 20
Level 20

Re: Timeshift alternative: ZFS support and backup user files

Post by Hoser Rob »