Installing Mint (my way)

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
MurphCID
Level 15
Level 15

Installing Mint (my way)

Post by MurphCID »

Installing Mint (my way)
ow I install Mint.

This is how I do it, you will install differently depending on what you want and need in Linux.

1st step- get the computer. This is sort of important to have a computer. I tried installing Mint on a stove but it did not work. Same with the washing machine. So get a computer. I use laptops for my computers with Linux Mint so this applies to my laptops usage.

2nd step- burn the .iso- I use Rufus on Windows. I have all my .iso files on my windows machines.

3rd step- insert the drive, and boot into the drive.

4th step- I select installation, I seldom test unless it is a distro I have no experience with at all.

5th Step- Activate either WiFi or plug in the Ethernet cable so I have internet access.

6th step- Load the distro. Once you are loaded, and it tells you to reboot and remove the installation medium, do so.

7th step- Welcome screen comes up. I open a terminal and immediately do the following things:
"sudo apt remove --purge libreoffice* firefox* thunderbird*"
"sudo apt install htop tlp neofetch (if not installed)"
sudo start tlp add systemclt for tlp
"sudo apt install linux-oem-22.04(x) where "X" is the the "c" version"
Reboot

8th step- Go to welcome screen and activate modern look. NOTE on upgrades, you will not see the two bars on the screen, unless and until you go into welcome and activate modern look, I found this out completely by trial and error.

9th step- Activate firewall, do updates, etc. Install Libreoffice, Firefox, Chrome, Zoom, Thunderbird as flatpaks from software center. Install MS Core fonts, and GParted.