Why is Linux Mint so popular?

Chat about anything related to Linux Mint
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
erbad

Why is Linux Mint so popular?

Post by erbad »

I've been using Ubuntu for perhaps 2 years now and have been really happy with the LTS version that doesn't have Unity.

Recently, I decided to upgrade to the latest version and was faced with Unity which I thought wasn't all that great or flexible. Some users suggested Linux Mint as a good alternative and I'm just wondering what makes this OS so good? It's obviously got a growing following as it is number one on distrowatch now as well.

Thank you
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Lumikki

Re: Why is Linux Mint so popular?

Post by Lumikki »

I think Mint's popularity have a few reasons.

1. Linux Mint is designed for easy use on desktop computers.
2. It's more conservative as not going with new Ubuntu direction.
3. It works out of the box, with full multimedia support and is extremely easy to use.
4. Based on Debian and Ubuntu, it provides about 30,000 packages.
dagon
Level 7
Level 7

Post by dagon »

Moved by moderator
xenopeek
Level 25
Level 25

Post by xenopeek »

What makes any Linux distro good? When it provides what works for you, that makes it good :wink: But as a better answer, I'm suggesting you give this recent, unbiased, article comparing Ubuntu and Linux Mint a read: A tale of two distros: Ubuntu and Linux Mint

Whether you stay on Ubuntu or move to Linux Mint, it should give you a kick for being part of something great either way :mrgreen: And remember, you can install Unity on Linux Mint and you can install Cinnamon or Ubuntu, so you have freedom to use what works best for you :wink:
wolverine_tech

Post by wolverine_tech »