BleachBit, Is it safe?

Chat about Linux in general
User avatar
HiTechRedneck82
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Southern Maryland
Contact:

BleachBit, Is it safe?

Postby HiTechRedneck82 » Thu Jun 21, 2012 1:30 pm

I recently came across BleachBit, but I am a little wary of it.

When I run it and preview what it will remove in the APT section it says I will clean up about 1.5GB of space. This is tempting to do, but I'm not 100% sure it is safe to remove what it is wanting to. I don't really think it will immediately break something, but I don't know about other drawbacks and problems it could create in the future.

Has anyone used BleachBit before? and have you had any adverse effects from it?
~~~~~~ Excuses are the only thing that get in the way of solutions ~~~~~~

http://www.jrmarshall.com -~-~-~-~- http://www.hitechredneck.us

User avatar
bimsebasse
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1702
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Scandinavia

Re: BleachBit, Is it safe?

Postby bimsebasse » Thu Jun 21, 2012 1:51 pm

I use it regularly and it has never caused me any problems. It only clears apt cache and unneeded packages, it doesn't touch anything in use.
Thank you for this thread. That’s all I can say. You most definitely have made this forum into something special. You clearly know what you are doing, you’ve covered so many bases. Thanks!

exploder
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6967
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA
Contact:

Re: BleachBit, Is it safe?

Postby exploder » Thu Jun 21, 2012 2:05 pm

I use BleachBit to keep my systems cleaned up and have never had any problems with it.

squeezy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 566
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:05 pm
Location: The Land of Enchantment

Re: BleachBit, Is it safe?

Postby squeezy » Thu Jun 21, 2012 5:10 pm

If you use the regular (non-root) mode and clean Firefox, uncheck the Cookies and Passwords options. If you clear Cookies you'll be logging into all your favorite forums again. The clean Passwords option breaks Firefox Sync, you'll have to reestablish your sync settings.


Return to “Chat about Linux”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests