The absolute newbie!

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
eritromycin

The absolute newbie!

Post by eritromycin »

dear (future) friends!

after being a windows user for almost 20 years i finally decided to take the step towards Linux (at least as a dual boot system), something i was thinking of doing for some time now. The problem was and still is: i know nothing of Linux (except what i read here and there in the process of gaining information over the past few months).

I want to 1) "learn" linux "thoroughly" and 2) in time, once learned it good enough, make my contribution(s) to the linux community. But in order to do so, i must first learn it!

And that's where i need your help! Before i jump to my questions, a short info on my PC: (a 9 year old system)

intel core 2 duo 2,40 GHz E4600 (64-bit), 3GB SDRAM, 1 TB hard drive (NEW), 2GB ASUS nVidia GeForce GT630 Graphics Card.

Running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit. Partitions on hard drive: 3 partitions for windows (200 GB each) and 350 GB unused for my future linux system (my plan is: 50 or 60 GB /root, 5 GB /swap and the other 300GB for /user).

Q1. What is your recommendation for an absolute newbie: openSUSE, Ubuntu, or Linux Mint? Regarding ease of use, available software/packages and whether thay can be installed easily.

Q2. in connection with question 1: is my system sufficient for a 64-bit version of the above mentioned distributions? From the system requirements pages of the distributions i get the idea that Linux Mint (Cinnamon) or Ubuntu (Unity) would run faster on an older pc like mine? probably due to KDE? (seems it's using lots of RAM?)