Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Chat about Linux in general
User avatar
Lucap
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 650
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:40 am

Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby Lucap » Mon Sep 25, 2017 3:20 am

Anyone used both on Linux?

Though less powerful Remmina looks like it's less hassle to setup.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3461
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby catweazel » Mon Sep 25, 2017 3:31 am

Remmina is easy to setup. vPro AMT requires Core vPro CPUs and is aimed at the enterprise running Windwoes.

https://downloadmirror.intel.com/21058/eng/IT%20Project%20Planning%20Guide%20for%20Intel(R)%20AMT.pdf
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26505
If your problem is fixed, please mark your thread as [SOLVED] by editing the title of the first message in the thread.

User avatar
Lucap
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 650
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby Lucap » Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:23 am

catweazel wrote:Remmina is easy to setup. vPro AMT requires Core vPro CPUs and is aimed at the enterprise running Windwoes.

https://downloadmirror.intel.com/21058/eng/IT%20Project%20Planning%20Guide%20for%20Intel(R)%20AMT.pdf
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/26505


:shock: :?

AMT is open source and promoted for Linux by Intel developers and has big supporters like RedHat

http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/pre ... wto.7.html
https://software.intel.com/en-us/articl ... ce-drivers

Hence why i asked if anyone has used both for Linux as obviously someone that has bought a AMT enabled board and CPU has complete control over the PC regardless of the OS and may have experimented with the live boot option of different operating systems.

User avatar
catweazel
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3461
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby catweazel » Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:57 am

Well there you go. My googlefu has died a horrible death. Still, it is aimed at the enterprise, and that would explain RedHat's support. It is, on my reading of it, not simple to get up and running. Lots of compiling appears to be needed.

There are two fundamental questions you need to ask yourself. Do you need the sophistication of vPro AMT, and do you have the hardware on your local LAN to support it? Having one machine with AMT isn't sufficient, every machine you want to connect to and control must have it. If you just need to connect to a server to do some house-keeping then remmina is going to save you a lot of time and potential headaches.

Cheers.
If your problem is fixed, please mark your thread as [SOLVED] by editing the title of the first message in the thread.

User avatar
Lucap
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 650
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby Lucap » Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:05 am

I don't want to be powered on 24/7 , can Remmina both start and shutdown a PC with WOL Wake on LAN when ever it's necessary?

Thanks

User avatar
catweazel
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3461
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby catweazel » Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:51 am

I run xfce on my servers and can shut them down over remmina. WOL is handled by your machine's BIOS so it's independent of remmina. As long as the machine is setup for WOL it ought to work.
If your problem is fixed, please mark your thread as [SOLVED] by editing the title of the first message in the thread.

User avatar
Lucap
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 650
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby Lucap » Mon Sep 25, 2017 7:12 am

I'm starting to think my really old dual core laptop with remmina my be the quickest and easiest option as a download box as i no longer use it.

User avatar
Lucap
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 650
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby Lucap » Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:51 am

Does Remmina show the boot options so you can choose what account to log into?

now3by
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:56 pm

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby now3by » Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:03 am

No you can't do that with Remmia, you need AMT to have such control without any OS involved, with AMT you can format hdd and re/install any OS remote if you want.
Only from AMT v6 up you have KVM and you can use VNC to connect or other tools like MDTK, MeshCommander... (this work on windows), for lower version you need to use SOL and adjust grub boot parameters to remain in text mode.
Linux...

User avatar
catweazel
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3461
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby catweazel » Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:06 am

Lucap wrote:Does Remmina show the boot options so you can choose what account to log into?

No, but once the target machine is up and running, you can log into any account on that machine provided you have the username and password.
If your problem is fixed, please mark your thread as [SOLVED] by editing the title of the first message in the thread.

User avatar
Lucap
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 650
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby Lucap » Thu Sep 28, 2017 12:53 am


now3by
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:56 pm

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby now3by » Thu Sep 28, 2017 2:57 am

I am using AMT for years and newer had any problems.
- first 2 links affect only AMT > v6 and it is already patched.
It had no effect if you changed default admin account name to something random that can't be guessed so if you follow best practices you are safe even with a vulnerable version.

And by the the way you can disable AMT web server so no more webpage login access if you want:
web_disabled.png

You can even disable all advanced functionality: SOL, KVM... and have active only basic power on-off and logs and enable advanced functionality only when you need it so you can sleep assured that no remote hacker can take control of your AMT computer.

The best part it is that you can use AMT as a hw firewall so no more problems with vulnerability in any OS if you don't need to open ports and this is independent of OS used: linux, windows...
This require advanced AMT and IT knowledge, but any way AMT it is made for admins:
https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?top ... #msg749413

Have a look at AMT doc and sw if you are really interested:
http://www.meshcommander.com/active-management

- last link affect only latest AMT v+11
I don't think this can be done remote, but will see how serious it is; and probably will be patched asap.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vPoUf87RHtc
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrzqVYd2X3Y

Yes AMT can be a risk like using any other computer or OS if it is not proper configured but no more than other similar systems, have a look at facts:
Intel AMT: https://cve.mitre.org/cgi-bin/cvekey.cgi?keyword=amt
Dell's DRAC: https://cve.mitre.org/cgi-bin/cvekey.cgi?keyword=drac
IBM IMM: https://cve.mitre.org/cgi-bin/cvekey.cgi?keyword=imm
HP iLO: https://cve.mitre.org/cgi-bin/cvekey.cgi?keyword=ilo
supermicro: https://cve.mitre.org/cgi-bin/cvekey.cg ... supermicro
IPMI: https://cve.mitre.org/cgi-bin/cvekey.cgi?keyword=ipmi
:?:
Last edited by now3by on Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:40 am, edited 2 times in total.
Linux...

User avatar
Lucap
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 650
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby Lucap » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:31 am

Thanks now3by for clearing that up and all the information.

I shouldn't be surprised as it seems the norm these days for internet news sites like theregister to scaremonger , i wonder how many people ditched their intel hardware on the back of it without realising it was a simple fix. :)

User avatar
Lucap
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 650
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby Lucap » Sat Sep 30, 2017 3:20 am

Does Remmina have Wake on Lan support or would i need something else to send the magic packet?

now3by
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:56 pm

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby now3by » Sat Sep 30, 2017 3:35 am

you need something else.
I use: gWakeOnLan
Linux...

User avatar
Lucap
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 650
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby Lucap » Sat Sep 30, 2017 4:05 am

Thanks yet again. :)

I'll check it out.

User avatar
Lucap
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 650
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby Lucap » Fri Oct 06, 2017 12:54 am

now3by wrote:you need something else.
I use: gWakeOnLan


Are you using Mesh Commander with your AMT box?

Most of the online guides recommend RealVNC but that seems to be cloud based unless you pay a yearly subscription for the enterprise version and i'm not going to do that.

*edit*

DOH! , FacePalm

I just noticed that you have already mentioned Mesh Commander in previous post.

:oops:

now3by
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:56 pm

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby now3by » Fri Oct 06, 2017 3:38 pm

You can find what you want, have a look in description:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NxUmxvA7JYo
Linux...

User avatar
Lucap
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 650
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 1:40 am

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby Lucap » Fri Oct 06, 2017 6:23 pm

Thanks now3by you are a wealth of information. :mrgreen:

Do you have any preference between Mesh Commander and VNC as going by youtube videos VNC seems to be less clunky and laggy but it hard to tell just by a video.

now3by
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2017 1:56 pm

Re: Remmina vs Vpro AMT ?

Postby now3by » Sat Oct 07, 2017 3:59 am

Mostly I am using SSH and if required SOL for out of band serial console, because my servers are linux / bsd without graphical interface and also have old AMT v5.
I think VNC it is more fluid but have a look at both because you will need MC to set-up AMT, encryption and enable/disable advanced options and also to check logs.
If possible don't use anything over www without encryption.

If you need for computers with/without AMT check also:
MeshCentral ( I am using for few lans for a long time )
https://meshcentral.com
and
MeshCentral2 ( I have my test server with CIRA on linux for some time )
https://github.com/Ylianst/MeshCentral
http://www.meshcommander.com
Linux...


Return to “Chat about Linux”