What are your most used keyboard shortcuts?

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
pcsailor

What are your most used keyboard shortcuts?

Post by pcsailor »

Hi all,

I am new to Linux, and Mint and have been getting along fine with Google but there are few 'little' things I haven't found yet, or found out how to do. And yet I'm sure it's really easy and I'm missing it. (Like for example, how do you drag program icons onto the lower Taskbar, not the side Panel, but the lower one. Is this too Windows thinking?)

So I am curious, what are your most used keyboard shortcuts in Linux. Just one!

I ask because coming from Windows, there was always something I could learn, some shortcut I never used that I should have been.

Thought I'd ask here.

Thanks,
Phil
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
tenfoot
Level 6
Level 6

Re: What are your most used keyboard shortcuts?

Post by tenfoot »

Hi pcsailor

You don't mention which Desktop, Environment you use - Cinnamon, Mate, or xfce. If you require help in setting up desktop shortcuts, it would help people to help you if you did so.

I use the built in ones for accessing the internet and my email and 10 Custom ones, as follows:

ConvertAll
Dropbox
Gramps
Inkscape
KMyMoney
LibreOffice
Scribus
Terminal
Text Editor
In each case the key combination is Mode4+ <the initial letter of the application>
tenfoot
"Light thinks it travels faster than anything but it is wrong. No matter how fast light travels, it finds darkness always got there first, and is waiting for it." Terry Pratchett (Reaper Man)
Moem
Level 22
Level 22

Post by Moem »