Debian vs Ubuntu base bugs

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
mediclaser
Level 4
Level 4

Debian vs Ubuntu base bugs

Post by mediclaser »

Since I did not get any reply to my follow up question in the thread: viewtopic.php?f=60&t=275647&start=20
I'm starting a new one to avoid creating unnecessary work for the moderators.

I'm still a beginner in Linux but planning on eventually migrating all machines at work from Windows to Linux. It is important for me to learn as much as I can. I thought I was learning the correct way until these posts:
gm10 wrote: Wed Aug 15, 2018 6:49 pm
mediclaser wrote: Wed Aug 15, 2018 6:46 pm
gm10 wrote: Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:45 am Did you submit a bug report to Ubuntu....
This is the reason why LMDE is getting more attractive to me. The main edition Linux Mint stability depends on Ubuntu.
LMDE stability depends on Debian.

All of Linux stability depends on Linus.

Same difference.
gm10 wrote: Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:58 pm
mediclaser wrote: Wed Aug 15, 2018 7:48 pm By going straight to Debian, you only deal with Debian bugs. But with Ubuntu, you deal with Debian bugs + Ubuntu bugs.
Then cut out the middle-man, if you get your kernels from https://www.kernel.org/ you don't have third-party bugs at all. Nor their fixes, of course.

I never got a reply back after these:
mediclaser wrote: Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:47 am Are you saying the kernel is the only module prone to bugs, and if I get it directly from there Linux Mint would not be affected by bugs in Ubuntu (even though it's based on Ubuntu)? Please educate me.
mediclaser wrote: Thu Aug 16, 2018 10:52 am
catweazel wrote: Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:48 am
gm10 wrote: Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:17 am

I could have put more effort into that one, I know. :)
Oh, not you. @mediclaser ;->