MS Going to Linux?

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
wutsinterweb
Level 6
Level 6

MS Going to Linux?

Post by wutsinterweb »

So Microsoft has done some important things lately that support their use and everyone's use of Linux. I don't have the article I read, nor where I read it, but there seems to be a slight feeling that the company might even come out with a Linux version for consumers and might migrate to it. In time... This would be bad and good. Bad because it would put another target on Linux but very good because more people would be secure and it IS the better OS (Linux).
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
I've been using Mint for over 4 years, but I'm still a slow learner. I have a website: https://pickfetish.com. It is dedicated to guitar/instrument picks.
CaptainKirksChair
Level 4
Level 4

Re: MS Going to Linux?

Post by CaptainKirksChair »

Microsoft is cognizant of how leaky and unsecure the Windows NT kernel has become. When I worked IT for a "world-wide major banking corporation" we would dread the second Tuesday of each month because there was always a good number of patches to Windows. One or two were usually critical updates that we had to push to 200,000+ computers in 48 hours. That became 24 hours just before I left. That was hell. The worst part was there were always more patches waiting in the queue to disrupt your business.