So if the Linux Kernel is written in C, what IDE do they use?

Chat about Linux in general
wutsinterweb
Level 5
Level 5

So if the Linux Kernel is written in C, what IDE do they use?

Post by wutsinterweb » Mon Feb 25, 2019 5:37 pm

So I take it the core Linux Kernel is written in C and Assembly (and C++?). If that is correct, how do they do assembly while in a Linux Distro, is there an analogue to an IDE for Assembly code? And also, I know that in MSFT coding Visual Studio is the gold standard, but what IDEs do people like Linux, Richard, and everyone else use?

Finally, I take it Python is used to develope Mint? How is that done when the kernels are written in other languages.

I'm not a coder, but I'm doing reading on it, I've been focusing on Python for now. In college decades ago before I knew of Linux, we had a microprocessor course that involved some Assembly writing. I had a hard time with it and regret not learning better and more.
Last edited by karlchen on Mon Feb 25, 2019 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Not a support request; hence thread moved to "Chat about Linux"
I'm just a student, your guidance is appreciated.

xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24

Re: So if the Linux Kernel is written in C, what IDE do they use?

Post by xenopeek » Tue Feb 26, 2019 12:25 pm

The Linux kernel is written in C with a little Assembly. The C compiler also understands inline assembly and will assemble that on its own. A common standalone assembler on Linux is NASM, for projects that need it.

There will likely be a different answer from each developer you ask as to what IDE and other developer necessities they are using (or even which Linux distro and desktop environment they use).