Random thoughts on distro hopping

Chat about Linux in general
dave1953
Level 2
Level 2

Random thoughts on distro hopping

Post by dave1953 »

Just thinking about my newbie experiences with distro hopping. As a curious individual I've tried all the offered flavours of Linux Mint, Ubuntu Gnome, Mate, Debian Gnome, Manjaro, Feren, Elementary, Zorin etc etc etc. Some of these were professed to be utterly brilliant in the eyes of the reviewer, but as a newbie I wasn't experienced enough to appreciate the subtleties - which led to me thinking, how many disappointed tryers of Linux whichever distro there are who are expecting instant wonderfulness and haven't wanted to or been able to spend time configuring the offered distro to get it "perfect for them"? I am guilty of this crime.
Kadaitcha Man
Level 11
Level 11

Re: Random thoughts on distro hopping

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

dave1953 wrote:
Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:52 am
Just thinking about my newbie experiences with distro hopping. As a curious individual I've tried all the offered flavours of Linux Mint, Ubuntu Gnome, Mate, Debian Gnome, Manjaro, Feren, Elementary, Zorin etc etc etc. Some of these were professed to be utterly brilliant in the eyes of the reviewer, but as a newbie I wasn't experienced enough to appreciate the subtleties - which led to me thinking, how many disappointed tryers of Linux whichever distro there are who are expecting instant wonderfulness and haven't wanted to or been able to spend time configuring the offered distro to get it "perfect for them"? I am guilty of this crime.
I don't think that it applies only to newcomers. For some of us, the time to configure another distro is expensive. It certainly puts me off, unless I'm deathly bored.
Coming to a thread near you: Lots of bragging about my AMD 5950X. Currently delayed due to high demand.
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.
antikythera
Level 9
Level 9

Post by antikythera »