Should a home user worry about this? (malware)

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
wutsinterweb
Level 6
Level 6

Should a home user worry about this? (malware)

Post by wutsinterweb »

Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
I've been using Mint for over 4 years, but I'm still a slow learner. I have a website: https://pickfetish.com. It is dedicated to guitar/instrument picks.
rene
Level 20
Level 20

Re: Should a home user worry about this? (malware)

Post by rene »

No, not worrisome for desktop Linux users. I.e., it's malware, and once it's on your system it's not nice and relatively capable, but clearly once any piece of malware is on your system that's no good. Getting infected with this or any other malware in the first place is what you on desktop Linux have to go far out of your way for (and w.r.t. specifically this malware it's been until now geared towards e.g. corporate espionage; not home users).

Basically this stuff is quite simple: once malware is on your system, you've lost already, be it it dumb or smart malware. It's getting it on your system that's on desktop Linux and in practice a very close to zero chance, what with e.g. the repository model; users very much not being in the habit of downloading and running random executables from the web.

Be careful with even paying attention to these reports out on the web. By nature of the technology there is quite literally no end to conceptual threads out there nor will there ever be. It's the overwhelming lack of translation from conceptual to actual that is of primary interest to desktop Linux users.
wutsinterweb
Level 6
Level 6

Post by wutsinterweb »

That's exactly what I imagined.