Grub 2 didn't pick up Fedora - why? Solved!

Chat about Linux in general
Post Reply
5littlejoe5
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:35 pm

Grub 2 didn't pick up Fedora - why? Solved!

Post by 5littlejoe5 » Mon May 31, 2010 11:18 pm

Using one of the other distros installed and as root, I copied the stanza in the legacy "menu.lst" that pertains to Fedora, and made just a few changes to identify it correctly in Grub 2, and inserted it into the /etc/grub.d/*40. Grub 2 made another small change or 2, and displayed it and it will now boot to Fedora. I'm learning - I'm learning.

I like to have several versions of linux on my computer all the time. Some just to be learning, and some because they have speciaL strengths. Under the old Grub, I got pretty good at editing the menu.lst so it told me at boot up which was where, and which partitions were still available for something else.

Grub-2 messed that up thouroughly for now.

I just installed Mint-9, and it looks really good. Grub-2 picked up my old install of Mint-7; a knock-off of ubuntu called PureDyne (but named it ubuntu); a knock-off of Mepis called Antix (named it right). But it missed picking up Fedora.

Now, I need a **simple** tutorial for editing Grub-2 so it will display things by their right names, and so that it will pick up Fedora (and which other ones might I install that it won't pick-up.

Granted it's probably because Fedora (and others) don't do things like the others do, so that it may be that I'll have to edit something in one of the files in Fedora (or - by extension - in others that I might install. But I haven't any idea where to start.

Dave (5littlejoe5)
Last edited by 5littlejoe5 on Thu Jul 01, 2010 1:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2719
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: Grub 2 didn't pick up Fedora - why?

Post by dawgdoc » Mon May 31, 2010 11:50 pm

LittleJoe

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
Image

SYSTEM: Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon
READING: Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

FedoraRefugee
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:25 am

Re: Grub 2 didn't pick up Fedora - why?

Post by FedoraRefugee » Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:42 am

I had a similar issue while multibooting where Grub 2 would not pick up an ext4 partition no matter how many times I ran update-grub. I tried manual entries and still could not get a boot. Finally, in exasperation, I just replaced the Mint Grub 2 with legacy Grub and everything is now good on that computer.

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... +2#p253415

It was really easy to do and beats all the screwing around. I did not like doing it, I have enjoyed Grub 2 and have had no problems before, but on a multiboot computer it is probably easiest to just keep everything Grub legacy and chainload the master Grub to the slave Grubs in the /boot (/) partitions.

piratesmack
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 694
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 3:08 pm

Re: Grub 2 didn't pick up Fedora - why?

Post by piratesmack » Tue Jun 01, 2010 1:54 pm

Doesn't Fedora use LVM2 by default? I remember reading that, but I'm not sure since I've never used it.
update-grub wouldn't recognize Slackware on LVM2 volumes, but it had no problem detecting Slackware on a regular partition.

For multibooting, I now use grub4dos
http://grub4dos.sourceforge.net/

FedoraRefugee
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1284
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 11:25 am

Re: Grub 2 didn't pick up Fedora - why?

Post by FedoraRefugee » Tue Jun 01, 2010 3:13 pm

piratesmack wrote:Doesn't Fedora use LVM2 by default? I remember reading that, but I'm not sure since I've never used it.
update-grub wouldn't recognize Slackware on LVM2 volumes, but it had no problem detecting Slackware on a regular partition.

For multibooting, I now use grub4dos
http://grub4dos.sourceforge.net/
Good catch! Yeah, it does and that would mess with Grub 2.

5littlejoe5
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:35 pm

Re: Grub 2 didn't pick up Fedora - why?

Post by 5littlejoe5 » Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:49 am

Thanks, guys. It looks to me like Grub-2 needs some work before it gets too widely accepted. The old grub picks up Fedora and all the other distros on my system. To tell you the truth, I don't much miss Fedora. And since it appears that Grub-2 is the coming thing, (and I'm not likely to quit experimenting with new and different distros) I probably just need to learn what I can about Grub-2. , so I'm just looking for a good (and simple) Tutorial on the subject.

5littlejoe5

User avatar
dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2719
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: Grub 2 didn't pick up Fedora - why?

Post by dawgdoc » Wed Jun 02, 2010 2:10 pm

Hereis Ubuntu's guide on Grub2
Image

SYSTEM: Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon
READING: Little Brother by Cory Doctorow

User avatar
vrkalak
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4417
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: Grub 2 didn't pick up Fedora - why?

Post by vrkalak » Wed Jun 02, 2010 4:02 pm

Would be best if you checked out the 'official' Grub2 sites then. :)

Gubr2 Wiki >> Grub2 Wiki >> http://grub.enbug.org/
Ubuntu's Grub2 Guide >> http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1195275

Official GNU Grub2 site >> http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/grub-2.en.html

Mastering Grub2 Tutorial >> http://maketecheasier.com/mastering-grub-2-the-easy-way
http://members.iinet.net/~herman546/p20.html
Image
:: Debian-Sid (Xfce/Fluxbox) :: LinuxMint-18 (LTS) LXDE w/Openbox ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: My DeviantART Page

CDS
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2010 11:22 am

Re: Grub 2 didn't pick up Fedora - why?

Post by CDS » Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:34 am

As dawgdoc mentioned <sudo update-grub>, its works with grub2. I used grub2. None of the Fedora works as smooth as Mint9 on My notebook and netbook computer. I tried Fedora 13, Fedora remix 'Lucky 13'. Lucky 13 changed to Gnome interface after installation (On live CD, it looks mint interface).Just install as usual, then boot up your another OS which was installed before Fedora. Application>Terminal,
then: sudo update-grub
Reboot the system, it picks up.I installed Fedora 4 times, it never misses with above steps.

Post Reply

Return to “Chat about Linux”