Desktop Linux less stable than OSX,.. and Windows?!

Chat about Linux in general
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read the forum rules. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
v1nce

Desktop Linux less stable than OSX,.. and Windows?!

Post by v1nce »

Preface: I am not trolling! I have been using Linux daily at home for 10 years now averaging maybe 2 hours a day during that whole time period. Before that a LOT of windows. I work as an editor for a few months now and as helpdesk guy so during working hours i work a lot with OSX and Win. I love Linux and all the ideas behind it with a passion yet lately some questions have occurred to me. Perhaps you can answer them?

1. Could it be that us Linux users confuse Kernel Uptime with Desktop stability? Despite having used 50 distros (Mint is mainstay but have used everything from Tinycore to Ultimate edition) i don't find them stable when you engage in (de)installing a not so considerable amount of software, when you tweak your desktop, upgrade or play media daily. A few examples: odd error messages during boot, Firefox crashing a lot! Docky crashing/dissappearing, icons suddenly deciding to change theme, Media players crashing etc etc. With OSX these type of things are a very rare occurrence indeed and i must admit that even with Win they seem to happen a lot less. True, Win has the "blue screen" but in my experience that happens ten times less frequently than the things i mention. Apps, even much freeware, tends to be rather stable on Win by comparison. I have almost never had any stability problems with any of the Win "pricelessware" i have used, i can't say the same for a lot of the 'Open Source' ware i have used in Linux.