A Linux experience

Chat about Linux in general
rmcellig
Level 4
Level 4

A Linux experience

Post by rmcellig »

First off I want to mention that I have been a died in the wool Mac user since 1988. In my mind, it was the only computer and computer system that mattered. Over the past few months my attitude has been changing since discovering Linux. I am not a programmer or anything like that. Just a user who wants to do computing straightforward with as little intrusion as possible. I am slowly discovering Openbox, Fluxbox and E17 as possible choices I may use on a regular basis. I just have to wrap my head around them but I love the simplicity and minimalistic feel of them. Now with all that ramble out of the way, here is my latest great Linux experience.

I had a Linux moment that I want to share with you. To me, it was a big deal. I was working on my iMac and had to rip a CD. Everything seemed to be going fine until the CD drive slowed down and then stopped. The drive is working fine but I am not sure what happened.

I took the CD and put it in my old (circa 2001) Dell Desktop computer running Ubuntu 10.04. I started Asunder (the CD ripper), and without any problems whatsoever, the CD ripped fine and I was on my way. I spend most of my time now between my two laptops (both running Mint 12), and my old Dell desktop running Ubuntu 10.04. Bottom line is that it works and meets my needs. The expensive iMac is used basically to watch movies and videos and that’s it.

The other thing I love about Linux is that it seems like every day is like Christmas day. So many cool things to learn and explore. I want to try a distro, no problem. Puppy Linux? Openbox? No problem, it’s all there for the taking and the learning experience. I love it!!
Take care,

Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show every Sunday from noon-2pm or 89.1 fM

xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24

Re: A Linux experience

Post by xenopeek »