Disable tooltips in MintMenu

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Aldora
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:15 pm

Disable tooltips in MintMenu

Postby Aldora » Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:20 pm

Hello everyone,

I have opened the gconf-editor, searched for and disabled all of the tooltip checkboxes for the mint menu and panel with no effect. Is there an easy way to disable the tooltips?

Also, I would recommend not having them on by default in later versions- they just repeat the same information in the "application comments" and get in the way of selecting another menu item.

Thanks!
dave

User avatar
Habitual
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4202
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 8:31 pm
Location: Youngstown, Ohio

Re: Disable tooltips in MintMenu

Postby Habitual » Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:26 pm

Terminal >

Code: Select all

lsb_release -dr


output please.
Windows assumes you're an idiot.
Linux demands proof of it.

Aldora
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:15 pm

Re: Disable tooltips in MintMenu

Postby Aldora » Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:53 pm

Description: Linux Mint 11 Katya
Release: 11

Necrodust
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 4:10 am
Location: Russia

Re: Disable tooltips in MintMenu

Postby Necrodust » Tue Sep 13, 2011 7:51 pm

Aldora, if you want to disable all tooltips, open /usr/share/themes/theme_name/gtk-2.0/gtkrc and add to beginning of the file

Code: Select all

gtk-enable-tooltips = 0

For all themes you are using, and then re-set it in the Appearance properties.

Necrodust
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 4:10 am
Location: Russia

Re: Disable tooltips in MintMenu

Postby Necrodust » Sat Oct 08, 2011 4:47 am

Actually, if you completely disable tooltips, you get problems with scrolling in nautilus for some reason. So, a way to avoid it is not to disable tooltips but increase the delay time of its appearance with gtk-tooltip-timeout (in milliseconds). Also there is no need to edit every theme's gtkrc file, you can put «.gtkrc-2.0» file with that line in your home directory instead.


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests